Afternoon Errands Vlog - Sometimes I'm my own worst enemy

in #technology7 years ago


What it do Steem Folk!!!

I've been out of pocket the past couple of weeks so I haven't been activity vlogging/blogging on steemit. I told myself this year that I would do at least one post a day but given all of the commitments that I have it's hard to find time to cultivate content for steemit.

For the most part I've been resteeming other peoples comments and using bots to upvote other people since my vote it not that high at the moment. I use my phone to interact with steemit at lot even though steemit doesn't have a mobile app.

Other than actually posting articles the mobile site does pretty much all I need to do on steemit. That is why when my phone went dead the other day and would not turn back on I felt pretty helpless. It got me to thinking about the emotional dependencies that I/we have on technology.

The Culture of Smartphone Dependence



I think we are reaching a point that technology is going to be tightly integrated within our daily lives even more so than it is currently. It seems almost futile to fight it but at the same time I don't want it to totally consume my life. Given that I'm a software developer and a crypto enthusiasts it's kinda hard to "unplug". Not being able to use my phone for a whole 24 hours showed me I need to find a way to not be so emotionally attached to my phone and technology in general.

Social media plays a big part in how most people interact with their phones. Most of the time I see people they are just scrolling through Facebook or Instagram on their phone. I use to be the same way but I have pretty much cut Facebook out of my life and I was never really a big instagram user. Essentially I substituted steemit for my social media addiction.

I don't want to trade one addiction for another but I have to call it how it is. I like steemit don't get me wrong but the same pitfalls that plague any other social media site can have the same effect on steemit. I think the key is balance at least for me. In order to get in touch with nature you need to unplug sort of speak.

Going forward I'm going to try and find things non-internet and crypto related to occupy my time. One of those things is music but it's pretty much technology driven at the moment. That leads me into my next topic.

Music Scene on Steemit

There are so many dope music initiatives on steemit at the moment. I mentioned bonnie legion a.k.a. @soundlegion and bryan division @bryandivisions because they were top of mind but there are so many more. I've listed just a few below. Check them out and show your support when you get a chance. Thanks for reading!!!


Sound Legion presents Steemit Artists Music Compilation - Volume 4 (Official)


Steemit Cypher Sunday Week #3 Official Entry Beat - Prod. by @voyceatlas


Steemit Open Mic Week 73 Winners - See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week


"Calling All MCs/Singers of Earth!!" ROUND 23 !!! [Worldwide Cypher Jam !!] 白蚁.


"KILL THE PAD" CHALLENGE WEEK #3 - SPONSORED BY SMA ( This is a DSound Community Initiative )


genesis-mining


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Loving the video bombs happening from the back seat.

Lol yeah I didn't notice until after I uploaded it.

It cracked me up good!

Yea man, we are addicted to tech. They've done studies, and our body reacts the same way with the lack of technology as it does with the lack of cigarettes. So you nailed it there man.

Have to agree about the hip hop community here too, been blowing up recently. I'm loving it. So many great artists popping up. I agree with the "not trying to blow up" comment. I definitely don't have any notion that I'm going to "blow up", I just really enjoy having the opportunity to follow my passion once again after YEARS of not doing it. Steemit really gives you the ability to do that again and gives you an incentive to follow those passions, fucking love it.

Yea man we are on the same page. I've been out of the music game for years and now being able to get compensated for it is awesome. The money isn't really important to me but it does give you a sense uf fulfillment when you see your works being embraced by the community here.

Social media isn't all that bad, it has many pros. But its nice to have time away so you can just be apart of those moments that we are making instead of looking through the lens trying to capture life. I've been out of pocket also, but I think I'm going to plug back in soon :)

Yea that's what up!! You about to be able to take a bunch of awesome pictures where you are going!!!

This is so true about every one of us, we can hardly do without our phones the other day i was sweating profusely because i misplaced my phone, when i finally found it i looked back at how i felt and i conluded, men i love my phone more than my bae... I cant misplace her though.. @alao i saw earn.com among the link you shared i think i will be needing a tutor on it, pls hit me up on discord with @deeclown
#irise-network
Cheers

It's pretty straight forward. Let me see if I can find the blog post I did about it.

You didn't have a backup phone that you could switch to?

Nope being on Google Fi you have to use there hardware.

That's not very nice. I think mint sim is cheaper. https://www.mintsim.com/

Well you only pay for what you use. That is what I like about it.

tick ​​talk tick ​​talk tick ​​talk tick ​​talk

Russian propaganda! Really all that amounted to was Putin grandstanding and flexing his political muscle. This guy portrays himself as the ultimate tough guy who can do anything. He does Judo, fishes, plays hockey..ect. You get the point he is Russia's Chuck Norris!

You got a 15.24% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @alao!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 11.63% upvote from @mitsuko courtesy of @alao!

Well said, humans are going wild over technology and depend too much on it. Not everyone is addicted to it but a lot of people can't do without it and that's a real problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68137.22
ETH 2695.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74