You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Digitalization And Humanity

in #technology6 years ago

I'm going to answer with a bit of tongue in cheek, as I presume the last question was asked:

...if you were to make a choice either to live in this era with all these technological whatnots, or to go back to the era of the earliest hominid species with zero tech, which would you prefer?

I'm imagining my early ancestors huddled around a fire in a cave. Smoke and particulate matter rose up and filled their lungs--causing long-term lung damage. Which of course they didn't have to worry about because their lifespans were so brief.

I'm thinking about the age of heraldry, the Middle Ages, when people shared their few articles of clothing with a host of parasites and their modest dwelling with domestic animals.

I'm thinking of the labor required to make a loaf of bread. From the sowing, planting, harvesting, to the milling the wheat by hand, with stone.

I'm thinking of a farmer in the 18th century, hooking an animal to a plow and cutting furrows in the ground to prepare it for planting.

I'm thinking of laundry--washed perhaps with lye, by hand, and hung outside to dry.

I'm thinking of the 20th century, getting stuck in my car and having no phone nearby to call for help.

I'm thinking of writing a book, without a computer, without a flash drive to save my files and organize them for me.

None of these circumstances I've thought about seem ideal to me. The problem with technology is not that it exists, or results in reduction in brain size. The problem is, we were foolish in its use. Careless of consequences. We were like adolescents with new driving licenses and no skills. We rushed headlong into the future and made a mess of things.

It wasn't--isn't--technology that's bad. It was our ignorance, our lack of forethought and our greed that was bad.

And, by the way, I don't use a GPS--I use a map. Much more reliable. Unless it's out-of-date :)

An interesting and provocative read. I've had fun putting this response together. I hope it's fun to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60745.98
ETH 2342.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52