Summary of the Made By Google Event 2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

logo-made-by-google.png

Update: Not sure what is happening but my images aren't showing up.

Let me first apologize. I was hoping to do a live post but my computer crashed and so I watched the event on my TV but had no way to post the live feed. For my recompense, I will sift through some of the white paper that specifically came out the AI discussions from Sundar Pichai. Today he discussed AutoML. My guess most of the blog posts out there are going to discuss the Pixel XL 2, Google Home Max etc. I, however, looked more to the greater discussion about the sum of the parts and why Google has an edge over Apple and other manufacturers.

2.png

Remember This: AI + Software + Hardware (Rick Osterloh)

Google Home Mini $49 USD

I am both a user of Google home and the Amazon Echo. Each has its strengths and weakness. This however now puts Google on par to compete with Amazon. This also makes it affordable to put on in each of my kid's rooms.

New Nest Line Up

While we actually knew about this a few weeks back it was nice to see some really good XD (Experience Design) going into the Google ecosystem and this is consistent throughout the presentation. It really does look like the mantra of AI + Hardware + Software is consistent through the Google experience. I am glad to see that Nest has finally found a good place in Google.

Google Home Max

I am reasonably excited to see where this goes. Could Sonos finally have to step to the side that remains to be seen, but this offers a good solution albeit an expensive one.

Google Pixelbook

Frankly, I am not a fan of the Chrome operating system. It has never been my flavor, but that could be because I have never forced myself to spend any significant time using it. I am a developer and work in enterprise environments if I use a machine I am using WIndows, OS X or a flavor of Linux so I am not really into this platform. My parents and kids are perfect candidates for this platform but it is a consumption device more than a production device and I like to produce. If you do like the platform you might be keen to know that it now has a pen and Google Assistant integration.

Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL

Well, this is the main event of the event. I suspect the hardware guys felt the opening statement was a letdown. Basically, we got the specs don't matter. I would say hardware people are going to say that is a cop-out. I disagree but I think until we have six months of being in the wild people are not really going to understand the difference between this and the competitors with one exception the phone. No Google Ultra I am a little disappointed but we still happy with the always-on music identification, however, I want to see the battery impact before I pass judgment.

Pixel 2 Starts at $649

Pixel 2 XL Starts at $849

Starting Release Countries

Google Assistant

Google Assistant is getting "routines" and I like it. I live my life for efficiency when doing the menial things so I can focus on the important tasks. Automating my house and life is great if it works and doesn't take large sums of investment in setup. So if this proves to be truly efficient I am on board.

Pixel Lens

One of the best new features where AI + Hardware + Software Intersect. This new feature makes image capture, recognition, and analysis awesome like it never has before. One of the more exciting features that looks great.

Updates Google Daydream View

When this came out I had high hopes this is one of those things that I wonder if now this one like last's years sat in the box and collected dust.

Best Demo:Google Pixel Buds

Hands down the best demonstration of the day were when they showed how the used the new Google Pixel Buds to translate between two different languages if you watch anything from this demon watch the translation demo.

Google Clips

Had this been an option a few years ago when my son was born I might have gotten into this but frankly, a small camera that I would carry around just isn't interesting to me anymore. I have my phone for when I need it. If this camera was like a Go Pro that would be interesting this product is very specific at least for now. Priced at $249 this is very expensive. I might change my mind later but this doesn't seem to justify the cost.

Conclusion

Overall the event was interesting and showed some amazing products that have a lot of promise but the best feature of the hardware event was the software. BTW Everything is live on the google store for pricing, specs, and timing. I will be following up with a greater analysis in the coming weeks.

Follow Me at @aeonoftime

Sort:  

Really nice wrap-up, @aeonoftime. Well put together, even for us less-tech-savvy folks.

Thanks I was trying to do a quick summary with my initial feelings rather than focus on the tech specifics.

Looks like the photos are not showing.

Congratulations @aeonoftime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81