MacBookPro or Surface Book

in #technology7 years ago

Now this post is not meant to be a post that puts Apple against Windows, I'm just nearing a point were I'm getting ready for a new computer (notebook). For me it is not a big deal to jump between macOS and Windows, for I keep all of my documents saved in formats that can be read and used on both types of operating systems.

I just have the question, if you were to be at the point of acquiring a new computer, would you do it now or wait?

Here are some notes to consider:

  • Looking at the builds (memory, processor, etc) both devices (for the build I want) are almost equal in price.
  • Both devices can handle running virtual machines.
  • Apple just updated their Mac line up with the new 7th generation Intel Kaby Lake processors.
  • Apple's new macOS High Sierra will not be released to the public until the fall. It is only an incremental update.
  • The Surface Book will not get the new Kaby lake processors until maybe this September.
  • I'm not sure how much I would use the Surface Book pen, but I may grow to like it and use it.
  • I do like how I can use the Surface Book in tablet form.

Do I need a new device right away? No, but as my current device ages, it is on the back of my mind.

Sort:  

Macbook Pro owner here, with that kind of money I would bet on laptop that will give you the extra touchscreen capabilities. You may not find it useful at first but it's a nice property.

Congratulations @adamc301! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sweet... thank you!

Congratulations @adamc301! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81