Learning TD Sequential Indicator

in #technicalanalysis6 years ago

After being introduced to Tone Vays the other day and beginning to watch his daily TA videos, I have become interested in the Tome Demark Sequential Indicator, and so am spending some time today reading up on how to use it. For now I am just reading through the following two documents:

each of which I got from Tone Vays' website: http://www.libertylifetrail.com/education/learntrading/

I'm still far from certain that I trust Tone Vays' analysis, or that I trust TA at all, but I figure I might as well learn enough of it to actually reach my own conclusions.

I was particularly confused after learning a little bit about Cup and Handle indicator yesterday, then watched Tone Vays draw a cup and handle on the Bitcoin chart that very same day and broke one of the central aspects of what every video I had just watched said was necessary for a cup and handle - that it was a continuation pattern. ie: The must be a clear trend, and the cup and handle must then continue that trend. But Tone Vays just drew a cup and handle at the bottom of the bear trend, indicating that it would now go back up. So either every video I watched got this core fact wrong, or Tone Vays made a very simply mistake, or Tone Vays has decided that that aspect of cup and handle doesn't matter.

Anyway, I'm interested in this sequential indicator, because it seems much more regular and straightforward than most, with predictions which are easily checked - rather than indicators that might mean something, maybe, if everything else aligns.

Bitcoin

Otherwise, I am concerned by bitcoin's rise. I was really really hoping for a stronger double bottom. I want to see a really good entry point before I buy back in on some margin positions and with some spare USDT I am holding, but since it looks to me like we have finally left the bear channel, it is getting less and less certain that that will happen. Which means I am now torn between entering on a small correction and risking the major correction happening anyway, or waiting for that major correction, and missing the bull run.

In other words - the same constant problem we always have in trading I guess. Is this the bottom? Do I buy now?

I think I'm going to keep waiting for now. The market still feels sideways at best, and hopefully we will get another crash yet so I can more confidently jump back in with everything I have.

This is the chart I have been working on over the last few weeks. Just noting the lines of support/resistance, the channels and added fib levels for extra indicators.

bitcoin daily chart with channels

Sort:  

This is interesting, I have never used this indicator but I will try it out soon! As yes I agree, hopefully Bitcoin will consolidate a little more so that I can accumulate more. Followed you since I did a Bitcoin TA update as well today!

gotta love bottoms!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61213.69
ETH 3320.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46