After watching TechCrunch Startup Competition, I’d like to apologize to all the VCs I talked to

in #techcrunch7 years ago

"Sorry, for having wasted your time." That's one of the thoughts I had after TechCrunch.

Blue sky lab won the first prize in the Startup Competition. Out of the five finalists holding different rewards on the stage, you could easily recognize them by who has the biggest smile on the face. 1 million RMB could really do that to people. At least standing offstage I was happy for them. The fact was, earlier I watched all the teams’ roadshows, and each team showed me the differences. From technology to market, from ideas to actions, from IQ to EQ, and even from language switching to creative pitching, I was defeated at all levels.

I, however, was an outsider, here to help a friend send out business plans. What was even funnier was that this project had yet no MVP. But back then I didn't find it funny. On the contrary, somehow I was hopeful. The first day I was the fresh face of courtesy and enthusiasm, and the next day I knew I was crumbling from inside out. Standing in the bustle of the VC MEETUP, embarrassment was the feeling one should get used to. I did not want that, so I left early.

To know what the other person wants is to understand what you should have. You can’t be a naive, good person. Your ignorance is worth the impatience of everyone. You know you're cuter when you are silent. These three things, I say to myself, and to those who can relate.

This kind of self cognition adjustment, affects every aspect of my life, e.g., seeing how someone is imprisoned by his/her way of thinking, I inwardly get angry and indignant, even with strangers. Now noticing any startup hiring, the first thing I check is not the job description, but the company profile, wondering how their ideas in what fields are excellent enough to make VCs willing to invest. Also my attitude toward those who don’t help themselves and merely ask others for help, used to be paying no attention, though I myself might be like that sometimes. Now it’s undisguised dislike. For instance -

Today, 10 days after TechCrunch, a friend asked about the highlights of TechCrunch, and I replied, nothing, you had to be there. Again he asked, and again I answered, please go to the official website. Third question, you not in a good mood today? Third answer, no. Fourth question, it was that good? Fourth answer, tell that to those who go to music festivals. Forgot the fifth question. Was angry enough so I deleted the chat history. Later I cooled down and returned to the conversation, feeling uneasy with him replying earnestly. To be polite, I offered, I need to write an article to tell you the whole thing. Yeah I said it, but didn't really mean it. It was still anger overload while I said it. Yet here we are. Before writing I thought it would be long. Didn’t expect that the above would be all.

Thanks for reading.

Looking back at the first paragraph, I wrote “one”. Maybe there are more to share, but for now it doesn’t matter. Moreover, the highlights my friend wanted might not be this either. After all, at TechCrunch there was a sports car worth nearly 10 million rmb, talks given by BIG names in all industries, a hacker marathon, a startup valley and so on. I didn’t know either, that through the brain filter, what got written down would be these.

Now knowing what it’s like to meet VCs I'd also like to hug myself, since I wouldn’t have done it readily if I knew what I was walking into. To think of it, it was kind of cute. Ignorance is bliss.

Let’s meet up sometime.

IMG_5896.JPGIMG_5852.JPGIMG_5844.JPG图片1.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @lyche9! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @lyche9! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lyche9! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80