My tour Oculus Virtual Reality HQ in Seattle!!

in #tech6 years ago (edited)

hq

Oh my gosh... I just got to do one of the most fun experiences of my life. Up there with Indoor Skydiving, Snorkeling in Hawaii, Disneyland, and going to a certain founder of a large tech companies house that I am not supposed to speak about that rhymes with Gill Bates...

This time though, I went to the Oculus HQ in Seattle

One of their employees worked with my company for a commercial we were shooting and offered to bring a few of us through a demo, and tour. Luckily, I was one of the 4 that got to go and man am I grateful.

I am still just blown away by how much fun I had, and how cool their headquarters were...

There were two private demo rooms named Bebop, and Rocksteady. This is where I knew we were touring a cool ass company... when you officially name a room after Ninja Turtle Villains.

Just as I thought it couldn't get better than Ninja Turtle rooms... We walked around the corner to the "snack area"... our tour guide simply said... "you guys hungry or thirsty?"... It was all up for grabs, whatever anyone wanted, at any time, as much as you need. I got an Odwalla, muddy buddies, and a coke hahaha.

Then we came across what could only be Cerebro

Well I wasn't totally wrong... Yes I was... It is actually a device for 3D scanning your head so they can custom make a helmet/headpiece/head...thing... There was something like 46 HD camera's there...

This was the inside of it. I assume the pointy gold thing up top is for drilling your brains out... but who knows... They probably do

Even the bathroom was fully stocked!

Deodorant and toothbrushes! and MOUTHWASH DISPENSER lol

Then it was time for VR

Honestly there is no way to possibly describe this if you aren't experiencing it yourself. I genuinely wish I could. I tried explaining it to my wife and just sounded like a blithering idiot just waving my hands around excitedly. Here are a few pictures though... We got to do some basic demo stuff, got to pick up virtual things, played Beat Sabers, got to fly around New York, Played with clay in VR, and played a multiplayer shooter "Dead and Buried".



After VR was time for dinner!!!

They had a full kitchen staff, salad bar, more snacks and drinks, Make your own Sandwich/Pannini bar, and the main course was some Pho, that you could make yourself and was SOOO GOOD. Also a frozen yogurt self serve.

To wrap up...

Everything was amazing... the people... the food... and the tech. If you haven't tried out oculus, I highly encourage you to do so if you can. I need to get a better computer... but once I do, you can bet I will be getting one of those suckers... at only $400, how could you pass that up?

Sort:  

Holy shit. That looks like a crazy ass time. Kinda weird they have a mouthwash dispenser in the bathroom, but whatever, still cool as fuck, lol. Glad you had such a fun time trying out VR, dood.

So much food! Is their office in Pioneer Square? (Looked like one of the stadiums out the window.) Looks like an excellent day.

right next to safeco and centurly link fields. The taylor swift concert was happening same time lol. Somehow we literally found free parking within walking distance... it was a literal miracle.

Ha ha!!! Amazing. Free parking down there never happens let alone during T. Swift! 😄

Congratulation saywha! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 13min with 10 votes.
Thanks to @souldelas.

I am here grinning at my screen trying to live every inch of your read like a crazy soul :D These are the things my 11-year-old and I would kill for, lol. You are indeed a lucky man.

One question though, what is in that bowl? I swear food is king in variety!

It's called Pho. Its a Vietnamese noodle, beef, amazing soup

Nothing I have ever seen... :D

You got a 100.00% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57257.58
ETH 2345.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40