Why I probably won't buy another Orange Pi Board

in #tech7 years ago

So I thought I could make a cheap LAMP/File server a Raspberry pi would have worked fine for this.
But my eye fell on the Orange pi, a stronger and cheaper single-board computer. (Orange Pi One)

After messing around a little this board needs an actual DC power instead of Micro USB, I have tonnes of micro USB's so that it's a con compared to the Raspberry Pi. But after trying multiple chargers I finally one that actually works. About 4 every did have 5V 2A output but only the one from my old Samsung Galaxy Note works.

Then I tried to look up some issues there is actually a lot of complaints regarding the lack of support and just sucking images.
Anyhow what I was planning to do:

The World Cheapest File Server:
Needed

a Orange Pi One $10 on only Express (I ordered somewhere else)
a Micro SD Card (for the Linux Image) I have a 32GB Sandisk But about $ 14 will do
a PowerSuply for your Orange Pi, tricky I bought a cable for € 1.60
a UTP Cable/Network depending on the length just € 2

Total cost:

$ 24 + € 3,60 = this should be doable for about less then 30 €/$

So far this was my planning that I managed to do. If I manage to get a good going system I may consider buying a cluster of them. But trough a third-party seller, cause of the support.

Left on my to-do list once it boot's.

Well, ssh into it and setup an LAMP server on it. That may be a post for later.
Troubleshooting the Orange Pi so far has been a hell.

Sort:  

If you're after support and a solid community for ARM SoC style boards, it really is usually better just to stick with the commonly known brands and vendors.

https://nextthing.co/pages/chip is a good candidate for this because it's like $8 or $9 and comes with 4GB nand storage built in.

Equally, the Raspberry Pi Zero is similarly priced (albeit requiring a few dongles) and you have the full Pi community and all the howtos available to you.

Both the Pi Zero W and the CHIP come with wireless and bluetooth on board.

I use a raspberry pi, but this is just a project to see if I could build something like this. And maybe build clusters from. I am gonna check your suggestion out. I am gonna try to fix the Orange pi first. If I have a working image I made build a cluster and design a clusterhousing for it. I must say Just like the format of the orange Pi One but that has been the only pro so far. The first raspberry Pi use to be some trouble this beats it by far.

I had it running for a short will I will post a guide later on.
Since you really need to be care full with it softwarewise. Also a few things that I think are just odd.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What OS did you run on your Orange Pi ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11