How To Compress File Of Any Size And Content To Just 1 Bit

in #tech8 years ago (edited)

Big Data

Nowadays with large video, photo and other types of digital data the size of the files is getting bigger and bigger. It is becoming extremely important that efficient and quick data compression methods are put in place.

Several years ago a team of Russian scientists and mathematical experts developed an algorithm to compress digital files of any type and length to just 1 bit of length.

Yes, you read it correctly – just one bit.

Their work is kept as a top level secret on a national level. Why is it so you can very well see for yourself.

The only thing left is that this team didn’t come up yet with a solution of how to decompress these files.


Better and better!


Cover photo credit: geralt @ pixabay

Sort:  

I didn't even know where to start with my reply, until I read the last line :D

An old and bad Russian joke. Like the story about 1 + 1 being 3. I'll post this one too ... in the next day(s) ...

where's the funny tag?
seems something is wrong with steemit this morning.
the image in this post start to load and then not similar to other posts.
Just checked my own post to be sure and yes, good thing the images are loading. :-)

OK, I'll change joke tag to funny. I was considering using it in the first place but changed my mind. This joke isn't really funny. Except for geeks :)

I'll do this:
digital -> geek
joke -> funny

:)

Good news is the pic are loading now. :-)

Yes!

I intend to test the pic loading with a very long (tall) image later today...

I have a lossy compression scheme that takes 1 bit too.

Do I need this file? Yes = 1, no = 0.

As I said, it's lossy... aahahahaha

Exactly. This is the real science behind it. You can repeat the results every time. 100% repetition rate. 100% lossy compression :)

Actually not. It is not 100% lossy. What about the case when you start with one bit and you, by luck, get the compression right? :)

A yeah, has the potential for lossless too, lol...

I have to correct myself. When you start with one bit you don't end up with any compression. So, the verdict stands:

100% lossy compression :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41