Raspberry Pi Laptop

in #tech6 years ago

Hey everyone,
Today I'm going to be talking about my Raspberry Pi laptop I am almost finished building (Need to print a frame for the keyboard to sit on and an adjustable monitor frame). I have been meaning to post on this for a while, but I just never got around to it :)

)!

IMG_0718.JPG!

It cost me around $100. To actually put it together took about an hour, and about 8 hours to print the laptop frame.

If we look around the back:

IMG_0720.JPG!

IMG_0715.JPG!

The raspberry pi is housed in a compact black case, which I choose to match the black frame. Sooo much easier than building a PC - which requires connecting all those wires and hardware. With this, its just a snap, some hot glue, an HDMI and power cable and your done :)

IMG_0717.JPG!!

I also added a bluetooth speaker to it in case I wanted to play some music on it.

Lets turn it on!

IMG_0721.JPG

IMG_0722.JPG

The screen offers a nice backlight - I really like it but to be honest it can be very easy to scratch. Be careful with your screens guys!

The screen I choose :
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071X8H5FB/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The PiTop has a decently fast internet - actually faster then my actual laptop (Thanks Dell smh). Raspberry Pi's all have built in wifi and bluetooth capabilities, and with Raspbian OS you get chromium browser.

IMG_0723.JPG

I can even use Steemit from here! :D Hi guys!

IMG_0724.JPG

IMG_0725.JPG

IMG_0726.JPG

Lets check out some of the features in the start menu.

IMG_0727.JPG

One of my favorite features about this is that I can program my Arduino devices from my PiTop! This was originally the reason I built this. I may or may not have accidentally deleted my COM Ports on my Dell Laptop...which may or may not make it pretty much impossible to code anything from it. So I got this little guy for $100 - and it works great! Also since its so small I can take it on the go.

IMG_0728.JPG

Now check this out - I can program on here in Python and C! (comes with IDLE and Geany). So far it works great! So not only can I write code for my arduino projects, I can also write programs and games to run on my computer! :D

IMG_0729.JPG

Also very helpful for note taking, math work, power points and other school stuff - Raspbian comes packed with all my office needs. I can (and have) written school papers on this thing when I couldn't find my laptop. So much win :D

IMG_0730.JPG

Also Raspbian comes with some games - a lite version of minecraft caught my eye. I totally dont play it or waste time on it or anything...totally.

IMG_0731.JPG

Also helpful are the accessories this comes with. Pretty much the same as any computer or mobile device.

IMG_0732.JPG

Also its very easy to adjust your settings and preferences.

This is one of my more useful projects - I have actually ended up using this multiple times in daily life. It was very simple to build, inexpensive, and suits all my needs as a student and wannabe developer. I would 100% recommend building this. As always, if you have any questions or comments please don't hesitate to leave them below.
Cheers!
Max

Sort:  

Its interesting how we can substitute a Pi for a PC to program Arduino. Well done.

Well, RPi is a PC, but a bit smaller.

Its actually easier than I thought it would be. All I had to do was download Arduino IDE from the repositories and plug my arduino in. No fancy config changes, no github files, nothing. I was actually surprised at how easy it was.

Thats very encouraging to hear

done a good job there, the os seems to be holding well ?

Oh yeah its great! A little tricky to configure at first - you have to copy and paste something into the /boot nano file. But after that its really been smooth sailing. :)

Congratulations @buildrobotics! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @buildrobotics! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59453.81
ETH 2607.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39