Why I'm not buying a new iPhone...

in #tech7 years ago (edited)

497451902.jpg

But am getting my current one fixed.

I am probably not the only one dealing with this current issue by Apple. Apple seems to be known and feared (alongside with its Android rival, I reckon) for slowing down older devices when CEO Tim Cook has announced a new model. More recently it has also come to light that iPhones turn off and on again when there is about 30% battery left.

However, this is not the case with my iPhone.

My iPhone worked properly for about 3 hours this morning. I had gotten the battery replaced a few days ago in hopes of solving the problem (because, let's face it, I am one of those idiots who charged their phone overnight. Sue me), but unfortunately that was not meant to be.
The 3 hours it decided to do its job "properly" because it turned off again after opening the Facebook App (can you imagine) and the took another 15 minutes to recover before dying on me again after 3 minutes. As I said, the 3 hours it ran today, my iPhone spent about 45 minutes trying to get a grip on itself.

And although this in itself is terrifying as is, it has made me realize a few things:

1. I am not ready to give up on this iPhone

I own an iPhone 6s Plus which I scraped together with working my ass off over summer '16. I bought the 128gb, thinking I wouldn't need to buy another phone in at least 4 years. Needless to say, I paid a pretty penny for this phone. Call me sentimental, but I am not ready to call this "investment" a waste.

2. I want to get this phone repaired rather than buying a new one

Because hey, this is why you clicked my post, right?!
I am trying to live a more sustainable life and having things I already own repaired instead of buying new things (I won't go into detail about the horrible horrible working conditions the miners of the metals used in the phone) to make sure there is no new input on my part in the consumerist cycle. To illustrate this, see this picture below. Buying an item new is at the top of the pyramid and therefore the last step in the process (if all else fails).

10176182_10152771413250884_1257293807216419278_n.jpg
Thank you storyofstuff.com for posting this pic

Also, I still am 75% certain that the costs for repair won't be as much as a new phone will cost.

3. I am far too dependent on my phone

As a desperate mensure in this dire situation, I had to resort to the phone I had prior to this one. Don't get me wrong, I love this phone (OnePlus, whaddup!) but I won't spend the time to get it working properly because hopefully, I will have my iPhone back before that time. But just knowing that I don't have my phone on me with all the "important" info on it that I need in my everyday life makes me queezy. I know that's bullshit, because a mobile phone is not a staple for living and I hate that I feel this way. But it is the sad reality that my life (and it's probably not just me).

4. If I were to buy a new phone (IF), which one would I need to buy?!

Because, yeah. I am trying to not think of the worst case scenario, but I might have to face reality. I pray that my phone will live to fight another 3-4 years, but that might not be the case. I am not sure what to do in that case YET, but I am eyeing the OnePlus 5...

If you made it all the way down here, then thank you for taking the time to read through this rant. I normally wouldn't ask for this, but I could use some support in order to pay for, ya know, this mess.

Thanks again and enjoy your Saturday!

Sort:  

Have you updated to the most recent software?

I also have a 6S that I won't be replacing this year. I am just going to get the battery replaced.

I read that the phone's performance also increases when you get a new battery, so mine should be good for another year or so after I get the battery replaced.

I hope your problem gets sorted out! Best of luck!

I just did that yesterday, in the hopes of getting the problem sorted. It is a known problem with Apple and the newes ios update was said to have solved it... I guess just now for me.

I got the battery replaced a few days prior so I guess it's an entirely different problem. We'll see.

So good to hear you will keep your 6s for at leasr anotger year! How old is it now?

It's about 2 years old.

Glad to hear it is still going strong, apart from the battery ;)

I still have the iphone 5 and it seems to be working great. My brother used to work at apple and he told me if I change out the battery it would make the phone something like 20% faster... I'm going to have to try it.
Love that you're trying to live a more sustainable life! Me too! My goal this year is to have the best garden I've ever had so I can be less dependent on the grocery store.

That sounds awesome! Can't wait to read more about your veggie garden :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97