Teardrops For Boracay - Is The Closure Final?

in #teardrops6 years ago

Just a few more hours till the countdown of the closing of Boracay to the world on April 26, 2018. I feel so sad because it is one of the most popular beach resort and even in the world. Yes, maybe they were negligent and some irresponsible, but it should not affect the whole island. Maybe they could have done it station by station so not everyone will be affected all at the same time.

I have a cousin who lives there and has a business there, a very well know hotel Boracay Terraces and a piano bar - Steve Cliff, his family named it after him because he died a few years ago. His wife and family still live and work there. The eldest has a family and works in Iloilo but goes back and forth. The eldest daughter is the one in-charge of the hotel and the other 2, a son (ArmandTj) and daughter takes charge of Steve Cliff and selling food products.

I feel so sad for the other people, the workers and employees, local and not. How will they make a living? Even my cousins feel heartbroken and their #tears fall just thinking of letting go of their long time employees.

While watching the news and listening to the complains and the pleas of the people makes my heart ache. My #teardrops fall for them. Imagine living there and working there for a long time. Then suddenly everything is pulled out from under you.

I also just heard that my nephew on my father's side had a business there, a computer shop and cafe. He is also worried, how can he transfer all his supplies and gadgets? He had been bringing them at different times. A little at a time. I feel so sad for him too.

My nephew Armand Tj is a songwriter and singer, He made this closing song. He has also made one before "Last Stand For Paradise" which I featured a few weeks ago. He has also written another one but it has not been released yet. He has been featured and interviewed on his stand on Boracay on the news on TV, magazines and radio, hoping for a better outcome.

My heart bleeds for all those people who will be without a job, a home and family because of this closure. do hope that they will keep their promise of 6 months only. I hope the government will help them out, especially on the clean-up and the security of what will be left behind.

They showed on the news the tourist and employees leaving. There are still stragglers left behind, but for sure tomorrow everyone but residents will be left. It looked so lonely.

I am glad I was able to visit Boracay 25 years ago when Armand's uncle and my cousin got married there. They live on the last station. It was peaceful and not so crowded. I wen there again early 2000 to attend a convention and it was still ok more people and more hotels but still clean. My last time was with my Mom and younger brother 2005 before his wedding. Maybe more people but I still thought it was ok.

I saw my daughter's classmate who came home from England with her English husband, they stayed a week in Boracay because they knew it will close. She said on her Facebook account that at least her husband enjoyed it and was happy to have experienced it.

Armand TJimage.png

Published on Apr 24, 2018
On April 26, 2018, history is about to happen in Boracay when the island will close its doors to the outside world. This marks a new (uncertain) chapter for Boracay ever since welcoming visitors from around the world since the 1970's. The ''Closing Time'' song by Semisonic has traditionally been played in the hostels here every night to signal that the establishment was closing. I wanted to know how the song would feel upon adapting it to the closing of our beloved Boracay. I changed some of the lyrics and mashed it up with my ''See you in the Philippines'' song.

The video ends with a caption: ''Dear Boracay, thank you for the best time of our lives.''. There was a time before that I would ask different travelers to write a letter to Boracay as if Boracay was a person. I've seen how they poured their hearts in writing these letters. I'd like to invite everyone to share your own message to Boracay in the comments section of this video, to show some love back to the island (feel free share your photos too). There seems to be a resounding sentiment online that Boracay has passed its glory days. However for me, we're still living in Boracay's glory days, while having the best time of our lives. Most of us will only realize this too late.

In the far future, we'll be looking back with sweet nostalgia, ''ahhh those good old days back in Boracay''
p.s. This was a one take live recording.

Taken from my Nephew's message on YouTube with his permission

Goodbye Boracay - this is just temporary. We know that you will come out better, stronger and more beautiful after 6 months. Thank you for the memories.

P.S. Armand Tj and Jed Madela are second cousins. They are both my nephews.

29746662_150261105797322_1343487797_o.png

Our mentor @surpassinggoogle has been very supportive of our group #SteemitDiversify and other groups too. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Others that we should support are: @henry-gant, @kenny-crane, @beanz, @teamsteem, @good-karma, @busy.org, @esteemapp, @hr1, @arcange @bayanihan, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @steemitph, @jerrybanfield, @darthnava, @paradise-found, @geetharao, @stephenkendal and @richq11; they also have supported us; also the many others who have visited My posts. Pls. support them too. Thank you very much.
I am grateful for them and for everyone who has helped me and my friends. (Quote made by @purpledaisy57 permission given to use for members of SD family)
Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:
https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens
Please like the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/steemgigs/
& Twitter: https://twitter.com/steemgigs
PLEASE SUPPORT: https://steemgigs.org

29550167_150284895794943_285442300_n.jpg

28942028_1803363626403687_1389362440_o.jpg

Sort:  

Let's hope for the best after 6 months!

OMG! I had no idea about this until now. I've been there twice (2007 and 2008, I think) and it was so amazing. A true paradise! I understand that they want it to be "greener", but I really do feel for the people who work there. It must be a huge financial worry :-(

yes so sad to see the people crying for help.

We're supposed to go there this summer with our relatives who lives in Boracay but only residents were allowed to get in.

I haven't been to bora...its one of the places that i would like to visit someday but seems its impossible now..

this is really very sad news but let's just hope and pray that all goes well and that the temporary closure will be for the better...Its hard to see all those people worrying about how are they going to earn during this period, hope someone with authority could help them out .

Im excited for the 6 months to end, hoping to have a good result. But sad for the workers and businesses na walang hanap-buhay this time.

hoping for a good reult after the rehabilitation..

I haven't been in Boracay but I think this is for the better at least Boracay got some rest for awhile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43