Pic-a-Topic' Writing Contest by @AverageOutsider

in #teardrops6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180715_091354.jpg

I'm going to pick an early childhood story since i felt like this is the best life i had.
I was born on 1980 in the province and also you can say i'm still belong in 90's child. My place is near at the sea and near in the mountain. We only have a small town here and when i was a child the next town wasn't a city yet. In my childhood gadgets owned only by rich people. That time we don't have mobile phone, computers, electricity, tv and internet. We only played like, running, playhouse made by sack of rice, gun that was made by the leaves of banana and leaves of coconut tre but the hard one that is in the middle. That's why we used to play in the sea, in the street but the street is just a sand. We are free to run everywhere because there were no vehicles, only bicycle. The seashore was one of the place we always went to play. We draw in the white sand, we made a sand ball. We even play fighting there, we were like a "karate kids". I can say that i experienced the best childhood ever. I can still remember when I was crying watching other kids swimming in the sea, i cried because i didn't know how to swim yet and no one will watch over me. Being child is beautiful, your concern only is to play and to enjoy life.
When sun down we start now to play "rock, paper and scisor" to decide which you will go and if it will be decided the game we'll do is "patiray og bola" in bisaya and in english "kick ball". We also played throwing a can with a sleepers and if someone will hit it everyone will run and the umpire must captured one person to replace it's place. Not only that, you can choose what kind of games you want, if your fan in a gun you should choose the game, "gyera-gyerahay" or "war game", used a beautiful gun that was made of banana and coconut tree leaves. There are others also played "patentero", it's a kind of game in Philippines where we used a stick and make a line in the street depends on how many children will play. That was very fun and worth remembering, like my friend "lingling", while we're playing capturing, she carried her little brother because her mother will be mad if she didn't take care of her. She really wants to play so while running she's carrying her little brother. Well her little brother was enjoying also. I couldn't help myself to smile if i remember those carelessness act. Sometimes tears came out if i remember those moment because i know it won't happen again.
We are still not done even if it's dark because we played the games "buwan-buwanay" or "draw a circle like a moon". We draw a circle and put a lines in the middle and if the enemy or umpire can't captured for long because this game needs speed. The one line in the line will be slice of one another line. The umpire can only step in the line and the players must be in the circle but becareful that the umpire might reach you. I could also remember when there was a full moon the street will full of people because it's so bright. We were like idiots enjoying the night under the bright moon. We also have another game, "ik-ikay" in bisaya or "hide and seek". The difference in "ik-ikay to other hide and seek game was played by groups. We did rock, paper and scissor to decide which team you'll go. Even kids have crushes or they likes, this game was the best because when you saw your enemy you must captured him/her. If you can't touch someone they are still in the game, well as me that time i was silly. If my crush run i'll run fast and hug her, as if i'm falling down. After this game we went to our playhouse and stay for awhile there. Sometimes we brought fresh rice and vegetable, we'll cook it there and we will eat there. I remember we made a viand food of papaya, we grined it and cooked it with oil. That kind of food was always cooked, money that time is hard to find. If i remember it right, we can eat meat if there was a birthday, fiesta and any occasion. Maybe we're considered as poor that time, we can eat three times a day, can buy the exact needs school supplies but we can't buy luxury dresses. If i think of it now it was really hard but i don't care because the happiness is priceless.
If there are happy memories in childhood ofcourse there is also painful memories. How can i forget this happening if it really broke my heart and all of my family. My late father was just a fisherman and my mother was a housewife, she can earned if she accepts dirty clothes to wash. There this time when my big sister named Aritas, i don't want to remember it because until now it makes me cry but i think i must so i can express and make it feel lighter. So my big sister aritas went to a store because we don't have a viand food. In my younger days we mixed the soysauce and oil in the food if we don't have a viand food. My tears start to fall right now, hehe. Anyway that's it, she went to a store to owe worth of 2 pesos of soysauce and 2 pesos of oil so we can now eat. But she went home crying and told my mother that the store didn't let her to owe soysauce and oil. I saw my mother was feeling insulted but she just change it in a different emotions. My mother said to my sister, "why are you crying, just accept the fact that no one will let us borrow or owe because they are afraid that we can't pay." After that she left in the table where we waited but i saw my mother wipe het eyes. I was just a child that didn't know what is the right emotions for that but when i remember now, i feel like we really were pathetic that time. It's hard to live in this world with no enough money. My sad memories didn't stop there because when we brothers having a drink and we already drank, he always cried about our life before. They have the worst life because they are older than me, when i have a clear mind they already started to help my parents in needs, like sending us in college, building a house so that the raindrops won't came inside the house. My brother always remember this happening because he really felt pathetic this moment and also my other brother and sisters. It was evening that time, as my mother saw the rice it's not enough for all of us so what my mother did is cooking it like a porridge instead of a normal boiled rice. When it will be porridge the rice will expand because of many water on it. Now my mother start serving the porridge, she managed to serve for all of us and nothing remained in the pot. After you finish it there will be no another serve. My mother called ua to eat, when all of us sit in the table ofcourse the porridge still hot. My brother start to eat by using spoon, when he tried to eat it the lizard fall in his food and because it's very hot, the lizard was dead and it's like it's been cooked. My brother was just watching the food because he cannot eat it anymore. My mother started to cried, she knew that there will be no another serve of the food. We just gave him but not enough to make us full. The world was so harsh that time, why did it happened if it knew that we don't have anything.

Well that's only in the past because now most of my brothers and sisters have a nice life. They're the one also sending me to school. Remember that even a child has a problem, if you're a parents try to ask them. But still my childhood is worth to share or remember.

This is my entry, "an early childhood story".
if you want to know more just visit this link below.

https://steemit.com/contest/@averageoutsider/new-pic-a-topic-writing-contest-by-averageoutsider-open-july-22th-july-28th

thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Thank you Mr. Nightmare for your entry. Have a pleasant day.

no, it's my pleasure..thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63