Old but not disabled.. my grandfather's trades

in #teardrops6 years ago (edited)

My grandfather is more or less 80-year old already, wrinkly and can't hear that much you have to raise your voice a notch for him to hear you. He outlived my grandma who died just last year. Imagine living alone without a wife to argue with after being together most if their lives. They were quite a pair, both of them. My grandma has this high notch type of voice you can hear her even from a distance perfect for my grandpa's hearing. Her weakness on the otherhand, was that she can't see well while my grandpa has perfect sight he can see even the tiniest needle. So with them together is just perfect. One's weakness is the other's strenght.

So now, without his other half, my grandpa is living a lonely life hoping everyday for the time to come that he'll be reunited again with his wife.

My grandpa is an ever talented man. He played violin when he was young, he knew how to paint as well. His work of arts can be seen on our local horse carriages moving still in certain parts of the city because he also makes and repairs carriages until a few years back. Now he makes guitars for a living since it doesn't require much physical work. He's not the one to depend on his children to live. He prefers to earn by himself. Supposedly, my father was the one who showed interest in following his trade but he died young at just 45. His other sons were following different ones.

The pictures below were some of his unfinished works and will be ready for december.

20180922_111125.jpg

20180922_111217.jpg

Sort:  

This is heartwarming if a little sad.

This post has been selected as part of my School of Minnows curation post. You can find that here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48