#Teardrops - Our borrowed Time

in #teardrops6 years ago (edited)

image

Image taken from pixabay

We already booked tickets for us which we borrowed from my sister going home this December. I am starting to buy chocolates to bring with us back in the Philippines. It is already a practice for Filipino who work abroad that chocolates in the pasalubong or souvenir to bring back home with our loved ones. I do this months prior to our scheduled vacation so that it doesn't hurt our pockets if I started buying little by little.

image
This is my mother-in-law when she was still healthy. The picture on the wall is my father-in-law. He died before I met him. I my previous posts and even today, I never posted images of my mother-in-law on her bed suffering.

Yesterday, I read a message from my husband's Aunt that they will bring our mother-in-law to the hospital this Thursday for a checkup because she is having pain in her back and side that sometimes radiate to her legs. If you are a follower of mine and read some of my blogs, you must already know that she is suffering from a stage 4 bone cancer. It started from a breast cancer then spread just barely 2 years.

She hasn't told my husband about the pain she is going through but we are constantly asking for updates from my sister-in-law, my mother-in-law's sisters and from my stepdaughters. We are open to the possibility that she will be gone sooner. We couldn't do anything about it but to pray and have faith in the Lord. What we are asking is to spare her from the pain and to be with us a little longer. We went to church last Sunday to light a candle for her and I almost broke down while praying to God to just give us a little time to be with her. My husband is not ready to let go of his mother yet.

So I tried to check from the website of the airlines that we booked last time if we can reschedule our vacation. We are supposed to spend our Christmas in the Philippines and back in in the UAE for New Year (because if we go back here after the New Year, the tickets are already expensive) but now, we will try to reschedule it for next month. Rescheduling our tickets will be costly and the tickets' price is​ different from the one that we already booked but God will provide. We have been through tough times. We can do this again. What matters most is that we can have the chance to spend our time​ with my mother-in-law and to take care of her.

image
This is my parents in their recent picture. Planning to buy my mother a set of jewelry and a phone for my father but if we reschedule our vacation for next month, I think I couldn't buy it for them. I know they will understand.

The situation of my mother-in-law made me realize to spend time with your loved ones especially your parents while they are still alive. Let them know how grateful you are for having them as parents. Our vacation for this year will be more of giving back and taking care of our parents. With our 1 month vacation in the Philippines, we will also spend the 13 days with my parents. I will be the one to cook for them everyday for these 13 days. I will spend it with them. The 17 days will be with my mother-in-law. I want to give a chance for​ my husband to take care of his​ mother.

Please help us pray with for my mother-in-law.

image

Sort:  

You certainly did it well today!

You got a 3.70% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @krystlekhan!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Keep on writing original and interesting life stories. :D

9lk2puivgm.png

Thank you. :)

I know how hard it is to have a family member sick and also losing one. I just went thru it a few days agao. Prayers are all we have and to think that they are now pain-free. Prayers friend. Maybe we will have a chance to meet when you are in Antique.

Congratulations this post was choosen as one of the featured post in @steem-mom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71