#TEARDROPS - My father

in #teardrops6 years ago

I grew up with a very disciplinarian and strict father. I remember a few years back that I was driven out of the house for a simple reason - I forgot to greet him on father's day. I even received punches from him on several occasions and when my friends would cry to me that their parents slapped them, I would just comfort them by saying

That's the slightest sort discipline I got.

And everyone would just laugh. BUT IT WAS NOT A JOKE. Sometimes my mother received the punches that supposed to hit me.

5674_10153703228147600_815639865786525234_n.jpg

The last time he hit me was when I was 28 years old. It was my fault actually. Anyway, all the beatings were mostly at my fault. Haha! I was considered the blacksheep of the family. WAS. Because I chose my husband (boyfriend then) over my ex. That was years ago, now he loved his son-in-law. Haha!

With all the beatings I got from him, I HONESTLY wondering (yes until now) why I never have any bitterness, hatred or whatever negative feelings for him. I have only RESPECT, ADMIRATION AND LOVE for my father. I don't know. Maybe because my mother's love is already enough to cover up all of his negative traits, or because he still deserves to be respected and loved because he is my father or because despite the not so good discipline we got from him, his love for us still prevails.

I don't want to paint him as the worst father because he does have good qualities of being a father. He cares for us, he loves us. His kind of discipline is not just acceptable. I just had a call with him today to greet him on father's day which I joked my husband earlier that I will call to greet him or else I will be driven out of our house. Haha!! All I heard from the line were his plans for his grandchildren​, that he misses us and how he longed for his grandson (my son). I told him not to worry because we are going home this December to be with them.


My father in 1980's

My father is now old - in his late 60s. After serving the government as a retired policeman and a 3-term town councilor, (PROUD DAUGHTER) he stays at home with my mother who is already a retired teacher, attends to his farm, enjoy taking care of his grandchildren, and watching tv. I just pray to God to give him good health. I love him dearly and if God will give us a chance to choose a father, I will still choose him in a heartbeat. There is no perfect father but he is perfect for me.

HAPPY FATHER'S DAY PAPANG. I LOVE YOU.

BANNER 2 ULOG.jpg#Ulog banner created by @jejes

Sort:  

We all have unique fathers sis... mine was an alcoholic and do a sermon even if he is not a priest everytime he got drunk hehehe!

Happy father's day to your dad and husband! :)

Kulang nalang ba Amen sis? haha!! Thank you sis. Makakarating.

Ai sis @akoaypilipina, pareho tayo ng tatay, haha. Kaya ayaw ko ng lasing si papa. Mga kapatid ko ang laging nasesermunan, buti na lang ako di na nakakatikim,haha.

Father treat us strictly to make us a good guy !!

I guess most dads in the military are strict, mine was in the US NAvy used to bossing people around and yes he would get mad at me but my mom always intervene to the end they would fight but I miss my dad I also never hated him sometimes felt sad but I understood he was used to men around

siguro nga mam. I am glad we didn't let ourselves hate our father.

Happy Father's Day... My father is always been like this. Strict but in good way.

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 17.28% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @jovema!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47