TEARDROPS FOR MY GRANDMOTHER WHO TAKES CARE OF ME SINCE I WAS A CHILD

in #teardrops7 years ago

I never grew-up with my parents. It is my grandmother who serves as my guardian. She is very kind and hardworking. She also loves to cook. She knows almost everything about me. She knows what food I don’t want and what food do I like. She also have a strong instinct about my feelings. She knows already if there’s something wrong about me.

I am not a perfect grandson. As a teenager, I also have attitude and behavior problems. I was addicted to computer games. Most of my childhood was spent in my room just to play online games. Never in my mind did I think that while I’m busy in things that are not really important, I almost forget to spend time with my grandma.

I never noticed that she was not getting any younger. I never realized how much I love her not until she became sickly for the past few years. She have heart problem, diabetes, hypertension and kidney problem. She have lots of maintenance everyday in order to fight all these illnesses.

One of the most scaring moment of my life is when my grandma suffered from stroke. She was in the ICU for a couple of days and I thought I’m gonna loose her. I have many worries in my mind during that time like how I will live without her, how I will miss her cooking in the kitchen, how I will miss the taste of her recipes, how I will miss her voice whenever she wakes me up early (earlier than my alarm) just to go to school, how I will miss her voice whenever she’s scolding me and how I will miss her presence.

My grandma is now 80 years old. I know that she’s strong and a fighter but I am still worried, worried that time will come that her body couldn’t take it anymore. If only I have the power to stop the time, I will do it at once. I will stop the time to passed by.

I can no longer bring back all the time that I wasted. All I ask to God is to give us more years to spend with her, to give her the strength (especially physically) to survive everyday. I do hope that her medication will also help to prolong her life.

My grandmother is like the other half of me. All my life she’s in my side. If she will leave, it will be a great pain to me and I don’t want it to happen. Knowing that I don’t have the power to prevent this from happening, the best thing that I can do now is to make the best out of the time that was still left for us. To everyone, let us all appreciate our loved ones. Let’s not wait to loose them first before we even realized their importance.


Sort:  

There was a time when I prayed to God if he could just decrease my years of life and be added to my dying grand father. But no, He still took my Tatay Melchor's life. Maybe because He wanted my lolo to rest and to not suffer anymore. But your grandma, she still looks beautiful, alive and happy. I wish her to have more fruitful years.

upvoted galing

i know it is hard to live without the presence of those who are dear to us. i know how you feel and i know there's a greater purpose if things happened opposite to what we pray or wish.

I miss my grandmother

That's right, cherish all the moments with her.. I hope all the best for your grandma too!

Mothers are the best!

Nakarelate ako dito ... I love her photo you shared give her a hug while you still can.. .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59