My Sweet Escape 6| A Glimpse of Heaven at God is Able Family Camp part I

in #teardrops6 years ago (edited)

A Glimpse of Heaven at God is Able Family Camp

I am 7th from the right standing

An experience that will forever be treasured

How was I brought to the camp ( Epilogue)

It was a rainy afternoon but I have to go to the town. Without any protection, I braved the rain for I will be late to my commitment. Then suddenly, out of nowhere at middle-aged woman covered me with her umbrella. She brought me to where I must go while conversing with me. I was thankful for her kind gesture but a bit skeptic too. Because with the flow of our conversation, I can predict that she is from another religious sect. I am totally openminded about such things and I do listen to other religions bible study. There is so much to learn from them. The next thing I knew is she will invite me to attend their church. But I was mistaken. She rather invited me to a family camp and she said it is an all-expense paid three-day camp. I can't be rude towards her and I am not that type. Still, despite her kind gesture, I refuse her invitation. She instead took my cell phone number and my FB account.

when I finally decided to come to the camp
From then on, she was chatting me once in a while most especially when the twice a year camp is near to come. I turned her down for more than a year and missed 3 camps. Well, honestly I have no plan of changing my religion. That is the main reason why I keep on rejecting her invitation though she assures me that it is a faith-based activity and open for all sorts of beliefs. What they do is they cater persons with disability and their family to have relaxation and enlightenment. It is also where they tighten the bond of the family member thru discussions, break out sessions and bible studies.

Ok! Ok! It is a good advocacy indeed. but my skepticism is reigning over me. I have this feeling that I will fall on a bait once I accepted her invitation. However, this woman won't stop doing so. She is so courteous and polite and guilt inside of me is starting to build up. So, after a year of persuasion, I raise up the white flag. I'm coming to the family camp but only me. I won't bring anyone else who can't play with the bait.

The Travel day

Well, what do you know? The woman who has been persistently inviting me can't accompany me to ride towards the venue, Mount Makiling Recreation Center (MMRC). She needs to go there a day ahead. So she entrusted me to a churchmate I will only meet on the departure day.

I was bit scared. What if this all just a show off and they are those human body organ stealers. But thinking aside, I have no organs working well because of my disease and she knows that. I just pushed through and meet the people who will fetch me towards the meeting place Christ Commission Fellowship (CCF) center.

Meeting the couple who will accompany me was awkward. But anyway, I am already here so lets just deal with it. Much to my surprise, we are heading to place familiar to me. I often pass by that building in Ortigas corner C5 road and wonder what is that building all about because it seems that no one occupies it as I pass by it. Look where fate brought me. It took me to the place I was curious about. Amazing! Was it fate who brought me here or was this part of my destiny?

So a bus was waiting there for us. Actually, we are 2nd to the last who arrive there. The bus must leave by 6 am but we were there by 8 am ( so Filipino time rules!) I was early it was all the traffics fault why we were late (ahem). Luckily the bus waited for our arrival.

Then from CCF, we travel towards MMRC in Batangas which only took us more than an hour ride (because there is no traffic. I told you it was the traffic's fault). Then a band greeted us and people cheering holding banners with our names printed on it. We were like politicians/ celebrities being met by our fans. That was overwhelming. Afterward, we were ushered to our designated rooms where I met brothers from Taguig who were my roommates for 3 consecutive days. They were Regimson Pablio 23yrs old who is the younger brother of Rhumson Pablio 30yrs old who possesses Muscular Dystrophy. It was a family affair that is why attendees are families (I am the only one who went there alone thanks to my skepticism. (sad face) )

The Workshop and break-out Session

After arranging our personal belongings the workshop immediately started. I was moved. The speaker hit the nail on the head. I forget her name but she is a Psychologist also a Pastor with a special child. We can relate to her stories. All her questions, struggles and moving on stage was completely relatable. It was the first talk and it was definitely enlightening. After the sincere and meaningful talk, we engage on break out session. Participants were asked to form a circle for an open discussion. The PWDs and their families shared their stories. There were tears and enlightenment. It was not just all heart pounding sharings but also applicable suggestions that we can use after the camp to tighten our relation with God, family and other people. I met a lot of awesome PWDs. They are inspiring. Indeed the even was open for all beliefs. I even met a muslim family inside the camp.

I am starting to trust the decision I made to come here. I already earned upon hearing the talk and the stories of the other people who experience the same life I am into. Each family has a personal usher. They are called Short Term Missionaries (STM) who will be the temporary caretakers of the participants until the end of the camp. My STM was brother Dandeelo Martinez. We were both of the same age. He is a seaman waiting for his next contract. As he waits he decided to be a volunteer in the camp together with her girlfriend, Danielle. They were my foster family during the camp.

There were four workshops in the 3 days camp followed by break out sessions. I am so much positive that I will learn from my stay here. After the first workshop, we had our buffet lunch. This was my favorite part. We had a sumptuous buffet lunch. My God the food was mouthwatering and so much delicious. And, it is unlimited. We were all boys in our group and we simply eat until all our stomach can't fully accommodate food. I was so happy because we all have something in common. We love to eat. I can still remember the taste of the food lingering in my mouth now.

After the hearty meal. we have an hour and a half free time. Most of the attendees decided to take an afternoon nap. While some plunge in the pool. I decided to go around the MMRC. It is like a paradise there. It is like a first class resort and hotel. Well, it is later I knew.

22.jpg

24.jpg

In the afternoon, we then had our afternoon workshop under another motivational speaker. It was followed by another break out session and then a very delectable dinner. At night time, inside our room I was chatting with my roommates getting to know them. We were talking also about what we have learned and the acceptance of the people inside the camp. All the efforts to come here was all worth it. We are really thankful for the wisdom and knowledge we acquired that will definitely be useful outside the campsite. Our room is so cozy like a hotel room and it is fully airconditioned. We were treated like stars in this place. They didn't just gave something but they gave everything. Tomorrow is our talent night. We must prepare a talent to present so we did. We slept almost midnight. I was feeling so numb but my heart is so full. I just feel so much happiness. My spirit is boosted making me closer to my Creator. I found such wonderful kind people. I found new friends. I found the Eden for PWDs. It is here in MMRC. It is here in God is Able Camp

. . . to be continued

Sort:  

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow! thank you so much c-squared for supporting Steemians all over the world. Thank you for reading and choosing this blog.

this piece is really great. kudos @beyonddisability

You received an upvote as your post was selected by the Community Support Coalition, courtesy of @steemph.antipolo

@arabsteem @sevenfingers @steemph.antipolo

thank you community coalition

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BeyondDisability from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78