My Family's Proof of Tears. An Untalented Documentation of our Journey with Cerebral Palsy.

in #teardrops7 years ago (edited)

My brother is no super hero but, he fights cerebral palsy, so that's close enough.

received_10214995302782413.jpeg

He survived 28 years when he was given only 5 to live. He has never told us he loves us but always shown in his smiles and taps of fingers. He's never helped us in any of the house chores but has made us feel inspired in all the things we do.

1988, December 25. My parents went to the birth giving center because it was my mother's due date for Jyron. She felt no pain, no contractions, no signs of giving birth yet. They stayed more than a couple of hours. Doctors sent them home saying each has their own time. So they went home and waited. Too long that they didn't notice it's nearing almost the end of 42nd week.

1989, January 31. They couldn't wait another day. Only pain felt was that of the lower back's bearing all the weight of him inside. My mother got induced and on the morning of the first day of February, he was born. The #tears my mom shed feeling the post birth relief was instantly replaced with #tears of worries.

My brother was born a little late than he should have. During which, he already ingested his own meconium. His prolonged stay inside the womb has caused decrease in oxygen levels too. This, as what doctors have suggested must've been the reason for his situation.

She has not taken any rest yet, but insisted she'd see my brother and find out everything. I was too young to understand then but they were told he needs to stay longer at the hospital.

I now feel what my mother must've felt then. Why? Why her? Why my brother? As a mom, I knew my mother didn't miss any doctor's appointment throughout her pregnancy. She carried him as safely as she can. Was it hereditary? If so, it would be impossible because none in our family is the same. There were just as many questions as the #tears that have been shed.

Later on, they were told he has microcephaly. I'm no medical person and I can't tell whether his being microcephalic has something to do with his another diagnosis which was Cerebral Palsy. His skull will take so much time to grow therefore will limit growth of his brain. My parents were advised they can do operation every couple of years to put a metal extension to his skull. That way it will allow the brain to grow normally. However, it will be very delicate and will put my brother's life in danger. Moreover, if this won't be done, then he may only get to live until 5 years old.

When Jyron turned two, my parents opted out of the operation. They didn't want to take the risk of losing my brother which may possibly happen during the operation. Considering it will be the skull and the brain they were supposed to work on. They just wanted to have him for as long as he can. 5 years turned to 10. 10 into 15 and on February 1st, is going to be his 29th.

FB_IMG_1516004972669.jpg
My brother when he was 6.

It was not an easy journey for us and I'm pretty sure it was hard for my mother. But during the time my brother was growing up, we hid all our worries, tears and sorrow from him. We never wanted him to feel he was a burden, because he is not. He is our biggest blessing. He is our baby forever.

FB_IMG_1516012389474.jpg

He was given 5 years to live but I'm sure he himself has fought hard to be how he is now. He sure feels sadness every once in a while, I know because I catch him with #tears some nights. He was given 5 years to live but he's outlived my mother who cared for him deeply.

FB_IMG_1516012828180.jpg

This is my untalented documentation of the #tears we shed and hid, of the #tears we chose to show and those we chose to bear silently. This is a story I had a hard time telling but because of @surpassinggoogle's idea that #tears should never go to waste, I am here sharing it with all of you.

a41abc66e5bd26344c9615c7cdd35059.jpg
Image source

Thanks for reading!

Love,
Jonah (and John)

Sort:  

bless you and your family. It hits close to home as the same thing happened with Zeppelin, he had a severe infection and was not able to breathe in his first moments of life. People will never realize how difficult a special needs journey is unless you are living in it.

Thank you for your story.

I remember my parents did not want us to see him at the hospital because his skin was very dark when he came out. Almost close to darkness of charcoal. But he's all survived it. His skin is even fairer than mine now.

People would always tell us, "it must be hard" for us. It is a challenge but that of which we gladly embraced. Plus, it is totally fun having someone who is innocent forever.

Yes, zepp is our eternal baby, like your brother.

Zepp was so dark as well. Parang egoy lol. Because he was constantly under the uv lights in the NICU. He also had a tube inserted in his mouth to drain the fluids in his stomach. Your brother and my son are born fighters.

Yup, ganung ganun daw si Jyjy. Pero mahaba na sha nun lumabas. Parang 1 month old na. Nakakatuwa lang kasi, di ko maisip na magte twenty nine na sha. 🙏🙏🙏

💚💚💚

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beatenegg to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Hi @nathen007! I was wondering if this post makes it to your challenge as part of your task to help minnows. 😊

This is a very touching story.

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58400.82
ETH 2567.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38