Sole (soul) purpose in life

in #teamsteem7 years ago

Last evening I shared in a marvelous discussion with excited, wise men. We chatted about life and our sole (soul) purpose. I added the parenthesis because some of us took the angle of sole as in single, solitary, individual, unique and exclusive purpose in life. Others viewed it as that which calls from the soul, the spiritual, emotional, essence of being that resides within us and guides us through living. While I began looking at my life purpose through the lens of “sole”, I quickly realized that life is far more complicated and amazing and so I was unable to boil myself down to one reason for living, one sole potentiality. I could draw on character attributes like integrity and honesty but that seemed both narrow because the definition can be confining and at the same time too flexible and unwieldy in the long run to really pin it down and then call it up as my purpose in life.IMG_20160211_183916.jpg
Next I wandered in the direction of soul purpose because I do possess deep within me drive and determination, perseverance and dedication, traits that push me forward as I work to leave a lasting mark of value on those with whom I work and associate as well as with friends and most importantly family. This part of purpose is the ever-lasting legacy type of soul, that passion and powerful feeling that will live on long after my life has ended. It includes my desire to be good and to do good to make certain that my tiny corner of the world is a fine one for me and for all those with whom I am in contact. I want to spread the sentiment of healthy wealth of spirit.My S.p 20160521_171514.jpg
As I studied sole purpose and soul purpose I quickly determined that purpose itself is a pretty big deal, a very wide topic. In just a few words, what is my purpose? Well, that question is impossible to explain as a few words would simply be inadequate and might leave an aftertaste of confusion and no guidance for understanding. Purpose, the raison d’etre, the principles I live by, the rationale I provide for my actions, and my ultimate intent involve both sole and soul, albeit widespread sole so I am able to encompass a vast array of items, all of which must resonate from my soul to express how deeply care.
Now sometimes as you travel through life your original purpose or a purpose that pops up along your route introduces an entirely different sort of sole. This sole is the dead fish variety, one ol’ catch that has lain in the smoldering sun for a few days. Yes, it stinks and is to be avoided but you cannot run away from it. This is because it emanates such an offensive odor that it must be attended to to prevent the reek from worsening and the aftereffects of this nose-tweaking smell from reverberating for ages to come. This is a purpose gone astray like choosing a profession that does not match your internal drive; making a decisions that in the end harms others and prevents you from achieving success; a poor choice of mate as in one who destroys your confidence and sense of well-being. These sole decisions require intervention, refocus, and change. A little adjustment will never be enough. A life-shaking transformation of your self is probably essential.Yerin 20160708_071934.jpg
This afternoon and tonight as you gather for heady and hearty conversation with family and cohorts, try this sole/soul topic out. Is your purpose sole or is it soul? Is it both? Is it neither? Is it changeable or must the status quo be accepted as inevitable and irreversible? Is there a sole purpose lurking around the corner smelling up your path ready to block your success and happiness? Above all discuss purpose and its value in creating a rewarding life and a remembrance for others as you enter the next life or your afterlife.

Sort:  

Congratulations @sanwise56! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sanwise56! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33