Sunday Sadness

in #teamsouthafrica7 years ago

I throw off my school shoes and pack my little bag. I kiss all the critters good bye. Slam the door shut and hop over the wall. It's faster that way, you see. I run the few meters and hop again. I'm here. Freedom, happiness, bliss, peace. Nero bounds down to greet me. Joyous laughter.

The key's under the mat.. the good old days. I put the kettle on for tea. Throw the chips in the pan and put on a *cozzie, dashing the steps up to the pool. Nero makes himself comfy on my towel. I turn my back, throw in the spoons and excitedly dive in to find them. The innocence of made-up childhood games.

I sit on the pavement, surrounded by paws and hooves and eat a few mulberries while I wait. Finally... there it is! I run down the driveway and jump on the bonnet, to be transported back up.

Saturday breezes in. My bakery takes shape, full of mud-baked pastries and bread. When I'm bored of that I hop on my quad bike and zig zag the small dunes. Falling off once or twice, but never to deter. Days of exploring and no questions asked. Delicious meals and kindness. Noot vir Noot on SABC 2.

Sunday is here. The feeling creeps up slowly. The afternoon arrives. IT has now sunken its teeth. Feigning illness to hopefully stay. But to no avail.

The walk back, in the dark. Shadows taller and stronger than I feel. Joy behind me. Try not to look back.
Sunday sadness you are here.

Sunday sadness.. a habit now. A myriad of memories. Sunday sadness never leaves. I've got this Sunday sadness.

*A cozzie is South African slang for a swimming costume.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Ah this made me so nostaglic! I love your writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69629.04
ETH 3375.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74