Flower Beach

Whilst on a film shoot in Kommetjie, I happened upon this beautiful scene at the Slangkop Lighthouse "beach"
I'm not sure if I should call it a beach though, there was hardly any sand at all :)
IMG_20180920_120138.jpg

IMG_20180920_120254.jpg
Just on a side note- Whenever there is a film shoot in a nature reserve or a beach or a forest (basically any location that is not private these days) we have to employ an ECO (Environmental Control Officer) This person is there to ensure the crew does not encroach on any area that has indigenous flora growing there. Also to make sure we don't litter or film anywhere our permit has not stipulated we may.

They are basically environmental police for the shoot.

Don't get me wrong, these folk do serve their purpose and I am glad we have them on set, as 98% of our international clients will try their luck, or are so used to throwing cigarette butts on the floor in their own countries that they try it here.\

I do get a little irritated though, when members of the public come to an area, such as Slankop Lighthouse beach for example, and have no qualms about strewing their litter all over the place or walking wherever they please, and a film crew is there, abiding by all these "rules" as laid out by Cape Nature, yet the ECO on set can do absolutely nothing about it.

I have asked more than once why they don't say anything to the public and the answer is always the same "we don't deal with the public"

So, I ask myself, why is there nobody policing these areas (Cape Nature reps) to ensure the public don't make a mess of things?? So much complaining about unemployment??? If the city had to employ people to keep an eye on the litter, the encroachment of indigenous plant life and general behaviour of the public they could generate hundreds of jobs.

While I am on this subject and it comes to mind, take Blouberg Beachfront for example--- the signs that say "no walking on the dunes" have all but faded and rotted to nothing, that members of the public use them as thoroughfare to the beach, totally destroying any chance the vegetation has to arrest the movement of the sand onto the road, eroding the beach away.
Kids playing on the dunes is a natural thing, I get it, but the parents should know better (I don't let my kids run around on the dunes in case you were wondering) Soon the beach road will be a memory, or it will cost millions to repair it...

If the city employed people to police this, it would create jobs and save the dunes...

anyways, that's my rant for the afternoon :)

I hope everyone had a good holiday and all the best for 2019! Health, wealth and happiness to you all

Sort:  

I came to late to like any of your pictures. Just letting you know, I scrolled through your page and would definietly have left an upvote. I followed and hope to catch the next one. :)

hi mayb - thanks so much for the kind words :) followed back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31