Those we do not see…

in #teamsouthafrica7 years ago

There are those in society that we do not see.

Homeless_Man.jpg

In South Africa where I live, this has been my mind-set. This is a great tragedy. Much of the inequality in this country comes from our tortured past. The stroke of a pen will not automatically fix centuries of behavioural patterns that are almost locked in stone. We have now had about 24 years of “freedom”, we have several generations of kids who were not borne under the Apartheid regime. Those born after the 1994 elections are known as the “Born Frees”.

Yet there will always be casualties of a capitalist system, what has changed now in the “new” South Africa is that it is not only the “non” white folks who fall into this category but white folks too. In the old Apartheid days, the National Party (government) would provide the “poor white” with government jobs and cheap housing. These folk would be relocated to areas where the voting power of the Nationalist Party was in danger of being “lost” to the Opposition (the “progressive” white voters) when elections were to be held and obviously the results of the election would favour the “government/Nationalist Party”. This was primarily practiced in the “old days” when the United Party was still around and the Nationalist Party was vying for independence from the “Filthy British” and “divorce” from the Commonwealth. These people are no longer catered for, government jobs are no longer their preserve, many have not been able to adapt and now are part of the “invisibles”.

The irony is that most of the systems and practices that were used by the oppressor, have been adopted by the succeeding government, no matter the cost to moral integrity. But I would like to say the intention of the current Government is good, even if the system of delivery is poor. So in South Africa we have a struggling infrastructure where the current government has poured billions into attempting to provide houses for the poor. Needless to say there is monstrous corruption and exploitation by various Black Empowerment Organisations. I state them specifically because they are the only service providers that are allowed to bid. But I digress…

When I had several cars that worked properly, I would never give much thought, if any, about the pedestrians seen on the side of the road, usually Black Folk. Sometimes some poor motorist’s vehicle would be broken down and blocking the smooth flow of traffic. I would be annoyed that my journey was delayed. I would be really irritated and think to myself, “why the hell can’t they keep their vehicles roadworthy?”

How ironic can life be!

Now I struggle to keep one miserable Tata on the road. Putting three of my girls into full time university has really caused a tremendous financial struggle. Actually, any reasonably minded person would think I am quite stupid. Of all things an accountant who can’t add or prepare a budget? They are certainly right, I am stupid. However, I believe that my kids will make a difference in society and in their future families, all this makes the struggle no struggle at all. Michele and I would do the exact same thing even if we could reverse time and go back.

So after spending a lot of time over the last few years without reliable transport then having to walk to various places and being filled with self-pity because of my “hard lot” in life. Now when my wife and I go past someone with a broken down car, our thoughts are much more sympathetic. I only wish I had the vaguest mechanical skills, then I could be of assistance, (my skills only extend to changing a tyre - I do that quite well, even if I say so myself). When I see the pedestrian walking on the side of the road, I wonder how long they have been walking. Many may think, well that is their lot in life,they are probably used to it. my lot is to live in better circumstances! Why? On what basis is that prejudiced thought based?

Today with the rampant crime levels, one cannot help indiscriminately without endangering one’s life or the lives of one’s family. Sad isn’t it? Fear has separated people. When I was a child, my Dad would always help the hitch-hiker. We can’t do that now; the risk is too great. I am only prepared to help those that I know.

20170822_180011.jpg

When I travel around in my little town, I look, and now I see! I see the solitary little fires in the veldt at night with the “invisibles” huddled around, or a body rolled up in a dirty blanket on the side of the road.

pexels-photo-272002.jpeg

I see and talk to the beggars at the traffic lights. Our family motto is, “I can’t help all but I can help some”. Michele and I have decided that we will help car guards with a few bucks when we go shopping. Now the car guard is a fairly recent development in this country. South Africa has been in a recession for many years (regardless of what the economists say), the population is expanding and business is contracting. So what can one do to survive? Some of the unemployed started to “look after” your car for a few Rands. I confess when they started out I used to get annoyed with them for bothering me with such a useless unwanted service. But I have reconsidered my stance, they are actually prepared to stand in the sun (and rain) for the whole day to hopefully earn something to live. I am sure that they have to pay various syndicates a “fee” for their “job”. Many motorists ignore them and give nothing. The trick is not to “see” them. Humanity is in short supply, even if you are not prepared to give the beggar anything financial, at least one could acknowledge them with a direct look and a few words. I know that we may not consider ourselves wealthy but to those that have almost nothing, we are wealthy!

On one day of the week, each suburb puts their garbage out to be collected by the municipality. Some enterprising souls come beforehand and dig through it to get plastic bottles etc, so they can earn a few pennies by selling it. No longer do I resent their efforts, I just ask them to keep the rubbish neat after they have finished. If we have stuff that is broken and no longer usable (clothing or shoes for example), Michele puts it in a plastic packet and on the street. By the next morning the packet was gone.

I would imagine that South Africa is not alone with this problem, the poor and non-employed, are everywhere. It is a challenge that confronts society, there are those who are dedicated to helping but they are too few. My wife works at a Catholic school and there are still some old Nuns who do much to collect and distribute to the poor. Now I am more aware of others in the community who go to great lengths to help. Michele collects old clothing and gives it to various organisations who can distribute it. A little thing, no big deal to us, but a big deal to those who do not have.
Our Western society is based on consumerism, we all have so much STUFF. We spend our lives getting more and more, and better and better. At the end of the day, how much do we need that STUFF? What do we do with the unwanted or no longer used STUFF? What we so desperately “needed” a few months ago, do we still have the same appreciation for that thing? In most cases I doubt that we do.

Get rid of it!

To my way of thinking our value as a specie is not so much measured by our technological advances but rather how we deal with our poor.!

Sort:  

This is really profound! I like how you show the simple important things of life. But it is so easy to overlook them. Our Eyes are trained through different situation to bot see this kind of needs.


The Focus is like you said to gain more and more to get better and better.
But I​ say also, there​ is​ nothing wrong with to get better is this what someone is doing.


But if this leads to that that we don't​ see the need of others, if this leads to close our eyes than something​ is wrong.

Inspired by that what happened​ in Vegas I​ wrote a kind of similar post that we should be thankful.


Great Post my friend.

I feel you there. It is not a South African problem, it is the same here in Kenya. the same story, a different script and location. However, when you give, you expect nothing back but your heart is clean and you can see through the lives of others. Keep up the good work you and Michele are doing. You are not only changing South Africa but creating a new generation that embraces equality and support. Thanks for opening up.

thanks but we are just ordinary people

To my way of thinking our value as a specie is not so much measured by our technological advances but rather how we deal with our poor.! But the poor can't be heard nor seem anywhere to be noticed

You made my day, you just unfold the puzzle of life through this article especially your concluding statement that wrote:

To my way of thinking our value as a specie is not so much measured by our technological advances but rather how we deal with our poor.!

This has been my disposition about life!
Am glad you identified with my thoughts.

Great post - you sound like a great person, as does your family.

I have been to South Africa once and I recognized much of what you write about. Equally, I have recognized it in many other countries.

We too consume far too much ‘stuff’. Each month we recycle clothes and other things that we have bought but never used.

I don’t have any solutions obviously.

But I did feel compelled to write a comment, mostly because I saw this article with over $80 of upvotes and not a single real comment and that seemed very wrong to me

Fortunately it looks like others have chimed in during the time it has taken me to write this

Thanks for the post!

thanks, patience reveals all

Same story for my Country Dear Fred, our past is hunting us and holding us down to step into a better future. Imagine Nigeria at 57years after independence and none of us Nigerians could boast of a major achievement.

Fact has it that Nigeria had Radio services before SA, Had Television Services before France; and where are we today? Still leaving in the past!

Nigeria, such a strong country, how much do our leaders want for themselves? When is enough enough?

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Great and informative post. I believe the bulk of the solution lies in knowing our history; history repeats itself.

History teaches so much, if only more could learn from its pages

Unfortunately we see similar situations in many places.

That's pretty cool to know, thanks fir sharing with us....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94