The nature of the resurrected Christ. Is a correct understanding important?

in #teamsouthafrica7 years ago

5612641576_8756729609_b.jpg

What evidence is available in the scriptures of the New Testament?

Is there conflict in the approach adopted by Christianity today?

The foundation of understanding depends on how one views the Bible. Is it the word of God? Can we say that the Bible is correct? Are there possible mistranslation errors due to either ignorance/misunderstanding of doctrine or mischievous intent of some the translators through the ages?

These are questions that have troubled scholars in many ages, particularly since the movements of the renaissance and reformation. These movements of independent thought and the gradual education of the masses by allowing the common man access to the Bible in their own languages, among other things, brought great improvement to society. Men can now question traditional thinking and make their own conclusions about life’s great questions.

The Nicene Creed is the foundation of general Christianity but is rejected by some sects.

I believe that certain of my beliefs need to be understood, so you can understand my approach.

  1. Jesus Christ is the Son of God, and that his birth was to a mortal woman, Mary.
  2. He is either the Son of God or a fraud, he cannot be a “good man” because his claims of divinity are either true or false; there can be no middle ground.
  3. He was crucified, gave up his life and was resurrected after three days.
  4. I use the King James Version of the scriptures as I believe it is one of the closest translations from the earlier languages, it is not easy to always understand the older type of English language, but I believe it is well worth the effort.

Therefore, I would like to present certain passages of scripture for one to consider.

The earliest interaction between the resurrected Lord (Jesus Christ) and a mortal being was when he appeared to Mary who was weeping outside the tomb. (refer to John chapter 20 verses 11 to 17)

11 ¶ But Mary stood without at the sepulchre weeping: and as she wept, she stooped down, and looked into the sepulchre,
12 And seeth two angels in white sitting, the one at the head, and the other at the feet, where the body of Jesus had lain.
13 And they say unto her, Woman, why weepest thou? She saith unto them, Because they have taken away my Lord, and I know not where they have laid him.
14 And when she had thus said, she turned herself back, and saw Jesus standing, and knew not that it was Jesus.
15 Jesus saith unto her, Woman, why weepest thou? whom seekest thou? She, supposing him to be the gardener, saith unto him, Sir, if thou have borne him hence, tell me where thou hast laid him, and I will take him away.
16 Jesus saith unto her, Mary. She turned herself, and saith unto him, Rabboni; which is to say, Master.
17 Jesus saith unto her, Touch me not; for I am not yet ascended to my Father: but go to my brethren, and say unto them, I ascend unto my Father, and your Father; and to my God, and your God.

Now there are several things that are of great interest in the above passage relating to the words of Jesus in verse 17.

First he said, “touch me not” – this to me is great evidence that the resurrected Christ had a physical body. Second was that he had not been to see his Father and her Father, his God and her God, this is a clear implication that the Son is separate from the Father.

A later interaction of the resurrected Christ was when he appeared to his eleven disciples and others (refer to Luke chapter 24 verses 36 to 43)

36 ¶ And as they thus spake, Jesus himself stood in the midst of them, and saith unto them, Peace be unto you.
37 But they were terrified and affrighted, and supposed that they had seen a spirit.
38 And he said unto them, Why are ye troubled? and why do thoughts arise in your hearts?
39 Behold my hands and my feet, that it is I myself: handle me, and see; for a spirit hath not flesh and bones, as ye see me have.
40 And when he had thus spoken, he shewed them his hands and his feet.
41 And while they yet believed not for joy, and wondered, he said unto them, Have ye here any meat?
42 And they gave him a piece of a broiled fish, and of an honeycomb.
43 And he took it, and did eat before them.

This interaction between the Saviour and his disciples have several important elements to consider.

  1. He clearly stated that he was not a spirit but a tangible being who could be touched.
  2. He instructed his followers to handle him, or to touch him.
  3. The disciples still struggled to comprehend the enormity of the resurrection, so Jesus asked for food and ate it in their presence to demonstrate the physical nature of his body.

There are several other recordings in the New Testament that record the Saviour eating food.

Now a few items to consider further.
Jesus clearly demonstrated the physical nature of his resurrected body. He is a man without sin, and we define lying or deliberate deception as a sin, therefore I believe that the Saviour is honest and tells the truth.
Why is such information important for us to understand? When the Saviour gave his prayer as recorded in John 17, there are two parts that I wish to focus on:
First, in verse three, the Saviour states how important it is to know the Father and the Son. Eternal life depends on such knowledge.

1 These words spake Jesus, and lifted up his eyes to heaven, and said, Father, the hour is come; glorify thy Son, that thy Son also may glorify thee:
2 As thou hast given him power over all flesh, that he should give eternal life to as many as thou hast given him.
3 And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.
4 I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do.
5 And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was.

The next very interesting passage speaks about the unity that the Son enjoys with his Father (being one) and that he prays that his disciples will also be one with them (Father and Son). This does not mean that all beings become one amorphous mass, rather it means that their purpose is united, or one. (see verses 20 to 23)

20 Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word;
21 That they all may be one; as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be one in us: that the world may believe that thou hast sent me.
22 And the glory which thou gavest me I have given them; that they may be one, even as we are one:
23 I in them, and thou in me, that they may be made perfect in one; and that the world may know that thou hast sent me, and hast loved them, as thou hast loved me.

When one looks at the generally accepted definition of resurrection, it is clearly seen to mean a person being dead. When dead it means that the material body is separated from the spirit which animated that body.

BurialofChrist_CarlBloch.jpg

Then rising from that state of death to a state of life. To me this means that the spirit once again joins with a material body. It is also taken to mean that a resurrected being cannot die again, or the spirit and the material body be separated.
There are other considerations, for example, a resurrected body does not have blood in it, blood is a mortal condition. The resurrected body is empowered by “spirit”.

The physical dimension of the immortal body is interesting to me because it is a state promised to all mortal beings. I also believe that it will be a body free of defects and free of mortal conditions and properties such as pain, tiredness, or injury.

My old man is looking forward to getting all his hair back, I wonder if I will recognise him?

Sort:  

This is a phenomenal article for discussion in my Theory of Knowledge class. Excellent research!

thanks, but are you allowed to discuss such matters at a school? Or am I incorrectly informed?

In my Theory of Knowledge class we are allowed to discuss religion and faith in regard to how does one know such things about religion. How can It be proved or can it even be proved. Stuff like that!

cool! what roots of your ancestry dominate? Jewish or Catholic? don't answer if deemed offensive, I am just interested in ancestry of people. My roots have Dutch as the male side but English as the female side. Thus English is the language used for me and several generations back.

I’m jewish but I am mostly Italian. My mother’s side is Russian Israeli!

all smart people, no wonder you like maths

I very much enjoyed reading this as I enjoy these types of subjects. I love the dynamic between the earthly body and spiritual body that Paul paints in 1 Corinthians 15. The picture of a seed and plant. The seed has a body but must die first in order for the new body (plant) to be grown. The same is done for our earthly bodies as to our spiritual (but still physical to touch) bodies.

very good point, not an easy concept to expect, but as surely as we all live we will all die someday, the ultimate adventure.

Very good post

Interesting, I been wanting to look more into this as Christmas approaches as the reason for the celebration is obviously Jesus Christ birthday

yes, there is certainly more in it than one would think. Many believe this date is incorrect, as this looming day is in the middle of winter. Some believe the birth is in the time period of spring (the shepherds were out at night with their sheep - probably lambing season?)

Verry Nice post
Thanks for shareing this with us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66070.34
ETH 2691.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88