Jennifer Rush, power and beauty

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago

As some of you may know, I have been writing recently about music that has affected my life.

In my last article I wrote about Neil Diamond and the reluctant admiration that I had for him when I was a teenager.

Jennifer_Rush.jpg

When Jennifer Rush came along, there was no reticence about expressing my admiration for her. That voice is utterly angelic, captivating and powerful. It does not cause any problems for her sales that she is a pretty woman as well.
She was a superstar all over the world but virtually unknown in the United States. That is amazing to me. I suppose it would have been nice for her to make extra money but as far as I am concerned, it does not diminish her musical appeal to me in the slightest.

I remember a disturbing incident that happened to me when I expressed my admiration for Jennifer to a fellow white South African, I was warned to curtail my admiration because that person doubted she was fully white! What an offensive remark on so many levels. (1) So what if she is not fully white? I don’t care in the slightest. (2) My admiration for the woman, a beautiful woman, is for her amazing voice, my admiration does not need descend into lust! (3) Does not such a comment reveal a great deal about the speaker? (a) how he views artists in a carnal sense (b) their indoctrination into Apartheid principals at that stage of their life? This happened in the mid 1980’s.
Maybe I am too sensitive, but I would rather be that kind of person. I want to be sensitive because of my love for the women in my life. My mother, my sisters, my wife and my four precious daughters. I am a feminist too, just like my girls. I want them to have a fair deal in life and not to be prejudiced against. Equal opportunity for all, especially no inappropriate sexual taunting or viewing them as mere sexual objects. I honestly believe how men treat women reflects greatly on their quality as a decent human being, poor treatment of women makes men mere beasts (sorry for the insult beasts, I know it is instinct in you, men have no such excuse available).

The most famous song of all was her “Power of Love”. It was the best seller for a long time until other more famous female artists came along in later years.

backstage_04.jpg

She comes from a musical family where her father is extremely talented. His name is Maurice Stern and he was an accomplished opera singer and even a sculptor of some fame. Jennifer is his third child and her original name was Heidi Stern. She achieved initial fame in Germany where the German public appreciated female vocal artists, unlike other areas of the world. I have no idea why she changed her name. Do any of you guys know why? Was it just a stage name?

Do yourself a favour, go listen to the Power of Love on Youtube, you will not be disappointed. I appreciate Jennifer as she has helped break the spell that Neil Diamond’s music placed on me.

I just hope that I don’t get trapped by her! Time will tell.

Sort:  

She is nice musician, she has nice impressive voice. good sense of listening you have.

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Earn passive income in SBD/STEEM by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 13.69% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @thedawn!

I know another version sung by Celine Dion but I discovered this beautiful version.No one can beat this one..Thanks this post i will be fan by Jennifer Rush.

My favourite music. thanks for sharing this post... upvote done
.....

Great post.upvote done...

Both Chris and myself were also big Fan's of Jennifer Rush , I recall she did a couple of Duets wuith male Singers as well. She toured South Africa just a year or two back . ( Chris told me)

that's interesting to know.

Thanks for sharing this post ..I like it this post.. thanks

I recall first hearing Jennifer Rush in 1985 whilst doing my National Service in the SA army. Her beautiful powerful voice captivated everyone... Still a fan.

Beautiful Post and very nice music. I appreciate your valuable content. thanks for sharing your beautiful blog...

yes, she is pretty and I'm sure she would have the great voice, But the person you told about her, such a cheap, how you can judge someone with color, cast?

is appalling, but the silly comment is a reflection of that judge at that moment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85