Fire - when the penny drops...

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago

I have never been a camping person, maybe what influenced it was when I was about 11 years old, I joined up with a scouting church group and they camped when it was raining. I was most unimpressed and have never forgotten what an unpleasant experience it was. What's the point? Mankind has evolved over millennia and now we want to abandon that progress, leave the comfort of home, bed and book, to say nothing of fridge and pantry and then go and stay in the wild! Nature they call it! What do people think windows were invented for? To look outside. If its light, open the curtains and if its dark, close the curtains. My wife and I decided a long time ago that we would continue to support the evolution of mankind by remaining in the pinnacle of man's invention; the House. Occasionally we will take the risk to go outside to have a braai. Even there, there are signs that I have passed beyond most mortals. I cannot really braai, in fact, my wife Michele believes (quite sincerely) that I am the world's worst braai-er. I take this as a compliment. Not only can she see this evolution, but our friends and family also do. When we invite anyone for a braai, the other menfolk tend to take over.

Two of my brothers (who have families) liked to do this kind of thing. Getting close to nature they say. We have spent millennia trying to get away from nature, now reckless individuals are trying to breakdown the progress of mankind.

Now even though I tend to regard myself as an evolved being there is something that appeals to the core of my primal being.

images.jpg

FIRE.

It is fascinating but what has really made me like this stuff is when I actually think about what is happening. When stuff burns, the stuff eventually disappears and turns into ash. The most obvious thing you may say. Yes, it is obvious and it has been around for millennia. Its value is immense, and its danger is great.

Grill on Balcony 2.jpg
(poor blighters, the braai on the balcony is risky)

The deeper thinking came when I was helping my eldest child do a project about "pebble reactors". Many internet sources were searched and as usual I got side tracked and found many incredible things. My poor daughter did get her project done but without too much help from her Dad.

2000px-Pebble_bed_reactor_scheme_(English).svg.png
(the Pebble bed reactor, a lot "safer"?)

This is what I found so amazing. The plant (ultimately the tree), spends its life growing by combining minerals, water and sunlight. Can you imagine, what a remarkable process photo synthesis is.

1280px-Plant_cell_structure-en.svg.png
(what a cute little engine)

A leaf capturing sunlight and converting it into vegetation.

Leaf_1_web.jpg
(lots of engines combined)

Man took this green stuff, let it dry and then with the amazing process of fire created heat. What is this heat? It is the breakdown of the wood back into its original components, steam (water) and sunlight (heat). The ash? what is that? Is it the minerals? I don't know, I don't think so? Where do they go? All life is an equation, so the process making wood must be balanced by the process breaking down wood through fire.

So the significance of the sun is clear; it is a key to most life that we know. No wonder there were those of our ancestors who worshipped the sun. We may think that they were ignorant savages but I understand where they were coming from. I don't believe their belief shows stupidity, rather it shows that they were observant of nature and spent time in reflection and appreciation for what they had.

images (2).jpg
(sunworship ancient ritual site)

So the next time you have a barbie, or a braai, or a barbeque and strike that match, think a little more about this amazing process we call fire.

Sort:  

Fire is Mystery. Riddle! Why is fire full for us such an inexplicable charm? Does the fire attract people both old and small? Fire is perpetual motion. Fire can burn forever if it is not obstructed, it would burn, without extinguishing, during our whole life.

I wonder if that is why the Olympics use fire?

Oh man, I have tried so many times to get the wife to camp....no ways!!
Well at least we still get the option of burning wood and throwing meat on top of it!!
A South African method of fire god worship perhaps?

I did worship in this way this past weekend. My wife was even impressed that I did not mess up the meat! I am indeed devolving...

Devolving! LOL

An interesting topic for discussion. The fire is completely real and at the same time not quite material. He comes from heaven as a messenger of higher powers, and then he is unbridled and destructive. And at the same time it can be mined, saved, managed. Fire simultaneously destroys, burns - and warms, gives food and protection. And fire is like a living creature: it can be born, eat, die. In short, fire is a mystery to me :)

I certainly feel the same.

Excellent review and you are right, the fire has always been useful for man and for nature it is also necessary! Thank you @fred703

A beautiful article @fred703 and for us the fire has always been of great importance, since it always plays an irreplaceable role in our life!

Welcome to steemit my dear friend.
Thanks for visiting my post..

The scene of burning your house in front of the eyes is very painful.

Most welcome.. thanks for sharing

We need a fire to survive. But fire can also be dangerous.

upvote and resteemit done

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97