Bittersweet

in #teamsouthafrica7 years ago

IMG-20171227-WA0053.jpg

much has been written about the Christmas 2017 festive season.

For me personally it has great religious significance.

Regardless of one’s approach to religion, it is a time of family togetherness for so many folk on the planet.

It seems to be a time where many find personal opportunities for greater magnanimity of spirit to others.

I know and I see that there are many regions of the world where war and terrible cruelty exist, yet despite this we need to and should celebrate this time with loved ones. It rejuvenates the soul and family bonds.

IMG-20171227-WA0051.jpg

For those of us who have children, various seasons are passed through, helpless babes, toddlers, youngsters, teenagers, then finally young adults where they will leave the home to forge their own lives.

For my four girls, we have passed through all the phases for the eldest two. They have completed their university studies and will be starting their work careers.

So this festive season is a time of change for our family, bitter for separation, where our home is going to be no longer their home address. Sweet, as studies have been successfully negotiated, where the girls will be able to fend for themselves. Although I do suspect that the financial taps will never really be turned off! Their devoted mother will never be able to resist heartfelt pleas.

I remember these times when I lived in my parents house, all the friends of my siblings and my own friends. The house was overcrowded; noise; plenty of differing activities; food; laughter. No wonder my mother loved it, wonderful times to create memories. Just like now. For us. For me.

I tend to be an observer and at times even a listener. Isn’t it lovely to feel the rhythms of time? Yet I cant sit here for too long, food must be gathered from the pantry for the eldest who is off to start her medical internship tomorrow morning at 7 am, she is getting an extra half an hour as it it New Years Day tomorrow, thereafter a 6.30 am start as she begins her block in surgery for the next few months.

I think we have a few more weeks before number two begins her career using her legal studies.

My wife and I have wanted the best for our girls, we want them to be independent and to have skills for their future lives. They want to have their own families one day but their skills will help protect their families, besides to my mind when a woman is educated, her impact is so much more on her environment and future generations.

So I would say that for me the sweet is much much greater than the bitter; contrasting experiences in life enhance our appreciation of good things. So live in the present, not the past nor the future. NOW is the only moment of time that exists. Enjoy what you have, there are so many out there who don’t have what we do. We don’t know what tomorrow will bring, it could be more good things, it could be more difficulties and trials. Regardless we have, and what we will receive, do what we can to enjoy and make the most of our lives.

IMG-20171227-WA0012.jpg

Its the right thing to do.

Sort:  

Awesome food menu to grow the meeting approach @fred703

put on 2 kgs, and I thought I was being careful! anyway all gone now but was enjoyed

I love the article title lool.
Family and friends are everything we must appreciate in this life.
Happy New Year for you all

the unknown makes everything so precious

Happy holiday @fred703.Thanks for sharing your moment.

my pleasure, hope you had a good one too.

May the universe bless you in surprising and joyful ways.
Happy New Year @fred703

🚀🚀🚀 Happy New Year 🚀🚀🚀

for you too, may you get a few of those things in your picture

That is so true! Life is here and now. Life is with friends and family. I love this article. There is goodness in the world and there will always be. A very happy new year to you and your family. Keep spreading the goodness through your words. :)

thanks for the kind sentiments

Nice to have a family time at holydays. Please look at my posts and comment or upvote if you like them

will have look when crappy internet works

wow good girls, nice nice @fred703

what a sweet post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81