A reluctant Neil Diamond fan

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago

5561533748_09de89a1ed_b.jpg

In some of my previous articles, I have mentioned that for exercise, I do water aerobics.

The class that I attend in weekday evenings is great fun. Our instructor really gets the best out of me. In order not to hear our own grunting, groaning and huffing and puffing, music is played very loudly. Songs with a catchy tune are selected. There must always be a strong beat. The songs our instructor has chosen are many old songs jazzed up to a more contemporary beat. There are four classes per week generally and the classes are about three quarters of an hour in length.

Thus many of these songs get stuck in my head. The latest artist to be stuck in my head is Neil Diamond. As a teenager I despised him and his music, my music at that stage was all Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin. I did not want to hear sweet melodies and lovely voices. What really made Neil Diamond horrible to me is that my parents liked his music. That was the last straw for me at that stage of my life.

There is no denying his popularity. When I used to go the “record shops”; they only had vinyls back then, there were shelves of his albums and only the odd album of my preferred kind of music. Unwillingly, the frequent hearing of his music on the radio that my parents listened to meant that the songs became well known to me. I still remember seeing the album “Hot August Night” all over the place. I still remember smirking when the newspapers reported that Neil was going bald and had to have hair transplants because he was a “ladies man”.

71Jt+Nzwg-L._SY355_.jpg

The only fellow whose soft music I liked was Cat Stevens, but that was because he was “cool”. Who didn’t like Cat?
Now over forty years later, Neil has struck! I find myself humming tunes from songs like “Sweet Caroline”, “Forever in Blue Jeans”, and “Song Song Blue”. Even as I type these titles, the melodies and Neil’s voice trap me into remembering.

I must confess, I like his music. Alright, alright I love it. The teenage version of me is horrified at what he sees I have become. Yes, I am getting old. I like music with a melody, farewell Ozzie Osborne and Robert Plant, heroes of my youth.

I breathe a sigh of regret and yet, I am pleased to make you a star in my mind, Neil Diamond!

Take a bow Neil, you are a legend, even to me.

neil-diamond-1971-chris-walter.jpg

Sort:  

You are right, my friend, those melodies and songs that we did not like at all in youth, acquire a different sound and meaning right now, when we are much older and look at life differently! I think that this has its charm and it's good that it happens so! Thank you @fred703

I think its because our energy levels drop. When we are young we don't really have to work, but now that we are older and spend the day at work, we want relaxing music to calm down to a more peaceful state

Thank you @fred703 I like it this good music.

Haha. I also began to notice that I like now what in my youth I could not stand. It's not only music and songs but also films or books. You have rightly noticed that every vorast has his own tastes. I think we do not age, but wise. Thanks for the interesting post @fred703

Congratulations @fred703! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Without music daily life is boring.

I doubt there is a single day that we don't listen to some music or hum a song or sing a bit

Wow a well known star.
Diamond diamond hip hop.

he is a nice musician , it shows your good interest in music. its a good post.

One of the most beautiful

Really awesome sharing my dear friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82