Who Knocked You Down A Peg Or Too Many?

in #teamsouthafrica7 years ago

Ever desire to do something, but stopped.
And think you were being silly for wanting it?

Ever see a moment before you and know that you should take it, but you just stood there, letting it slip by?
You sat in that crowded discussion, and thought of an idea but not say a word?

You were so close to that something real with that person, and put your walls back up?

Sometimes we believe we do not deserve things, like are not good enough, bright enough, tough enough, or just enough to deal with the moment that will come next.

We have a latent fear, or a trauma of someone or something, stopping us from being who we wanted to be.
Sometimes life gets hard and it causes us to play in safe, to roll over and take it for the sake of security.


img3040.JPG
Image Source

What good does that do you, or anyone..?
Its never easy to break a cycle, sometimes we don't know that we are going in these circles , these long journeys that takes us neither here nor there, we just realize that we are back here.. to this place in our minds, where sometimes the frustration causes us to stare into the distance , blankly...

Well I would tell you ... STOP.
But that would be up to you...
But know this. You are a lot more than you think, you are not your past, you may be pieces of it, and the people you have come across, but you are what you make and choose to be. Go get em!

Every breath is an acknowledgement to being alive, but sometimes, we don.t take the time to breathe, let alone live.
Everything in moderation, even playing it safe.

Go for that dance class, wear that outfit people think is silly, speak your mind when there's something to say.

Go for it! Do it! Because honestly... Why NOT??

Until Next Time....

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

We're so afraid of getting out of our comfort zones but then find it so liberating when we do take the leap, so you're right @fates, just do it!

Thanks so much for your awesome support @Lizelle !

It is fear that always holds some of us back @fates good motivational post to instill confidence for those of use who do not stand up and speak what is on our minds.

Thank you for reading! And your amazing support Joan!

When I coached little league baseball we would frequently encounter kids who would be afraid to swing the bat. Afraid they’d miss or afraid they’d hit into an out. We would explain that if they just stood there chances were high that they would strike out.

In baseball and in life, good things happen when you take a swing at it.

I love that! It's also a weird thing that kids feel so much pressure that they are afraid to strike out...

I wonder if it's a human thing or if it's been conditioned

I believe it’s a personality trait, but I also believe we are conditioning our kids and making it worse.

I have one kid who was (and still is) afraid to take a swing. My too others are less cautious.

I think we need to allow a little failure. They come to realize it isn’t the end of the world.

It like I tell my boys about asking girls out. “Go ahead and ask, what’s the worst thing that could happen? She says, No.” So what?”

Of course now that I’m older and wiser (and married) I realize that sometimes the worst thing that could happen is she says “yes”. Lol

Hahahhaha!

I also believe its the influences of the world around us, We all want to hear the feel good story, people constantly share their successes and achievements.
But because struggles aren't shares, some don't think its human to struggle and fail now and then.

Perfect. All of it.🐓🐓

This was really great and motivating! Thanks for posting!

Thank you for your support

Good pep post for January!

Strangely enough?, I have never woken up in the morning with the thought, "Where should I go and stand in a queue today? I am really great at procrastinating anything that involves queue standing.

Queues? what for ? I have to go to the traffic Dept, to redo my car and drivers...
So not looking forward to it.

It took me 5 days of queuing, to try and register a truck at Roodepoort , in the end I walked out and paid someone to get it done for me!
You have my Sympathy!

5 Days!!! Crisis!
I will go on Friday for the very latest!
But why would it take THAT long to register? The state of government run departments?

They kept hinting that I should go to Kathy's across the road , where I assume they get their bribes from?( mentioning it 5 times in one sentence) Never again!

Ridiculous! well I hope you got it all sorted!
Time is precious and its such a waste of life to be standing in a queue, let alone That long!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44