Kunjani Wines

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago

What's better than doing some wine tasting and eating Thai food on a Monday?

Image Source

Those of you that checked out my previous article will know that I worked an event at Kunjani Wines this past Saturday. I bought a 2014 and 2015 bottle of Shiraz, having tasted it the night I felt an second attempt would only be fair to judge these beauties.

IMG_1029.JPG

Please note this not a wine review nor am I by any means a qualified sommelier. The reason for buying these two bottles is to settle a fun quiz. The cellar master of Kunjani Wines had given me both wines the night to taste, but after having a few gin cocktails and being treated to a slow roasted lamb shank cooked in a red wine reduction... Let's just say I couldn't be sure of my taste buds. They were both amazing and I said that I will taste it another day and get back to them.

I then asked my brother, his wife and her brother to do a blind tasting with me. They know a bit more than I do, also wine is made to share in good company and that they surely are. Before we started my brother and myself had a little impromptu photo shoot to display these bottles. I had our head of media @dirkodie edit them a bit to give it more of a legit look.

The two bottles I bought to taste:

IMG_1072.jpg

2014 Shiraz

IMG_1075.jpg

2015 Shiraz

Let's get on with it then?

As mentioned we had a blind tasting, to make it fair I wrapped the bottles so that even I would not know which was which. First off was the bottle on the left. We had them air a bit and the tasting started. The first bottle had a beautiful dark colour to it and a rich berry smell. The overall consensus was a smooth but complex taste.

We had a little palate cleanser like the "professionals" we are. Then onto the bottle on the right. It had a lighter colour to it and a much more intense oaky smell to it. It was a little smoother than the first one and the flavours had a lot more definition to them so you could really get that meaty spice taste from the wine that lead to a hands down victory.

We had a little competition to see if we could guess which was which. Unfortunately we were mostly wrong and the victor came out to be the 2014. Cheaper than the 2015 it seemed strange but all in all both were very good bottle's and the team at Kunjani can be very proud of their product.

For more info on the farm and it's products check out their website here, definitely a not to miss wine farm if you are ever in Stellenbosch, South Africa.

Remember to Get Dirty and Stay Sexy

IMG_1081.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71