A Freshish start

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago

Hello all my fellow Steemians, today marks the start of a new chapter in my life

I have made my choice about my working situation and I have declined the offer to go back to my old job and rather decided that I will keep on doing freelance work, for them as well while I rebuild my company and life going forward.

Up until Sunday I was still very in between on my decision but after having a few conversations with some good people I have decided that instead of put off my future plans for when its easy I am going to just grab it hands first. I will be reviving a few of my old projects and start getting into a routine to force myself to work harder on them. Firstly let's do a quick recap on my Saturday that played a massive roll in my decision making.

Saturday night I was doing some freelance sound engineering work for Tyan Odendal an old friend of mine, check out below some of his work:

When he isn't doing solo corporate gigs he plays for a band called The Vanilla. They are a pop rock band from South Africa, check out them below:

The event we did was a 50th birthday for the owner of Triple Three Spirits. The venue was the beautiful Kunjani Wine Estates.

After sound check the client asked if we wanted any refreshments, as we naturally accepted the offer we were met by the flamboyant and loud loving personality of "Peter" Thee Gintleman. He was hired as the cocktail bartender for the day, as he is one of Triple Three's brand ambassadors. He was tasked with making custom cocktails at request with the three different gin's of Triple Three being the; Just Juniper Berry, Citrus Infusion and African Botanicals (Which would along side their peach schnapps, win gold at the Michael Angelo Awards later the night)

Here is a photo of the man the Legend, Thee Gintleman:

Image Source

Peter and myself would go on to have a bunch of great chats throughout the night as I sampled all of his creations. It turns out that he also knows my little brother who is also a cocktail bartender. Later the night we were discussing my decision about work. He shared that we was once in the same position and that going freelance and doing what he felt was right for him was the best decision he ever made.

Unfortunately, Peter had to leave later the night and I was greeted by the Cellar Master of Kunjani Wines, MR Paul. He had asked if we had sampled any of his wine yet? I said that we had been pre-occupied by Peter and his gin. He then tasked me with getting us some wine from the bar to taste as he apparently makes a great Shiraz. Shiraz being my favourite I jumped to the request. We had some great conversations and he even gave me a tour of the cellar and opened another bottle from his office. I was so sold on it that I bought two. He is still waiting on my decision on which year is the best.

Image Source

Spending all of this time with all these creatives it once again just sparked my love for the finer things in life and a once lost project called "taste-in(g)".

I am now reviving the project and our first event given the go ahead will be hosted at Kunjani Wines. Tonight I will be going to my brother and his wife to do a bit of a blind tasting and product review of these two wines. Keep your eyes open for the article coming soon.

Until then, Remember to Get Dirty and Stay Sexy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80