The Infamous Daith Piercing

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago

If you know me..... Which admittedly most of those (hopefully) reading now don't........ You would know that I am very very very modest...... About my dress..... My appearance........ Tattoos....... Piercings.......... Yip that's definitely me....... And I won't apologize for that either....... Each to their own likes and dislikes......... Right?

So for the better part of my life I have struggled greatly with constant and often debilitating headaches......... Then someone mentioned 'one of my worst nightmares'! Go for the Daith Piercing!

My initial thoughts were......... Wait 😱😱😱😱are you out of your friggin mind? Then you think...... Right...... What's the harm in actually JUST researching the facts (or non facts!). Then you contemplate it but you loose that thought because it's blarry well sore (yes MOST testimonials say that) so HELL NO!

After falling ill with another headache I decided to try and build up the courage to actually take the step...... What have I got to loose right?

So I made myself a promise to take it out after a month or two if I felt no relief whatsoever........ That exercise took me 6 months to actually get to going for an actual appointment.........

I was sure that that day I was going to die....... Out of fear mostly!

Well I'll have you know..... It's one of the worst pains I've felt and thought WHAT HAVE I DONE............

BUT I referred to the promise I had made myself and said that I needed to be consistent.......

Here is an interesting read about the piercing

From the following resources :
Body piercing. (2017).
nhs.uk/conditions/body-piercing/Daith piercing — Healing, cleaning, and care guide. (n.d.).
authoritytattoo.com/daith-piercing-healing-and-cleaning/Daith piercings 101. (2017).
americanmigrainefoundation.org/understanding-migraine/daith-piercings-101/Holbrook J, et al. (2012). Body piercing: Complications and prevention of health risks.
ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22175301Meltzer DI. (2005). Complications of body piercing.
aafp.org/afp/2005/1115/p2029.htmlPurim KSM, et al. (2014). Piercings in medical students and their effects on the skin.
ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4230659/Rizzo AC, et al. (2017). Daith piercing in a case of chronic migraine: A possible vagal modulation.
ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5711775/


Like other ear piercings, daith piercings are constantly exposed to bacteria from your hair, hats, phone, and more. This can increase your risk of infection.

A daith piercing is done by puncturing the cartilage tissue directly outside of your ear canal. This tissue is thicker and denser than the cartilage on your lobe and other outer edges.

There’s also less blood flowing to this part of the ear, which can prolong the healingprocess. A typical daith piercing can take anywhere from 4 to 12 months to heal, and you’re more likely to experience infectionduring this time.

20171207_142905.jpg

So here I am delighted to say that........... IT WORKS! It has alleviate my headaches from unimaginable pain to bearable headaches that are so rare. I've had my piercing for 6 months now! ........ I would definitely recommend it if you are ever wondering!

Sort:  

Headaches be gone! But now what do you say to your husband when he gets amorous? Headaches don't work anymore surely? LOL

hmmm, you got me thinking...

You get bad headaches? It worked a charm....honestly

Clem it really worked for me.......

@Justin..... Pfffffftttt

Interesting, thanks for sharing.

My pleasure 😊 thank you for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65927.86
ETH 3481.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66