South-Africa - I am proud of my country and love it here

in #teamsouthafrica7 years ago

Today I discovered a new account on Steemit. @teamsouthafrica.  Just seeing my country's name made me feel proud and I just had to follow them to be part of this community.

Isn't it amazing how you just feel pride if you see your country's name or flag or hear the anthem? Especially if you are touring a foreign country and you see the flag waving, or on TV at a sport event, or if our rugby/cricket/soccer teams are playing against another team?

                                 

image source


I have written about our country before and I cannot stress enough that we are far from perfect.  

We have a lot of baggage, we have made many mistakes in the past, our economy is a mess, we have a high crime rate and a lot of our government is corrupt.  So yes, it will maybe just be better to pack up and leave for another country.

But how do you do that if your whole life and heart is in this wonderful country.  

If you can see the good around you?  If you can see how diverse people can come together?  How a community can pull together in times of need?  If you look around you and see wonderful landscapes?  If you feel your heart is bursting with pride if the Springbok rugby team runs out on the field, or the Protea cricket team takes a wicked?  

You cannot do it, so you just go down on your knees and you pray that God will see the need for order in this country and help us to get through difficult times and become the country we all know we can be.

There are so many things that I love about South Africa.

Here are a few 

image source

  1. A braai - if you are South-African you will say O yes, enough said.  What is better than hanging out with friends and throwing some meat on the fire made with wood and having a few drinks.
  2. Boerewors - this is not a sausage!! It is called boerewors.  Made with meat and different spices.  Slap it on a bun and you have a boerewors roll - Lunch on the go.
  3. The bush - just a few hours outside the city you will find the bush - the most tranquil place you can imagine.  If you are lucky you will also spot a variety of wild life and watch the stars at night and again have a braai.
  4. Our lingo - we have a wonderful diverse "language" and words like Hoezit (how is it going) dop en tjop (meat and a drink for a braai),  Eish (o goodness), bakkie (truck) are just a few.
  5. Table mountain - a prominent landmark - best view and experience. Many a man has asked his girl there to get married and me as a born and bred Capetonian, if I drive down from Gauteng and I see Table mountain, it touches my soul like nothing else.  It must be the country's most photographed attraction.
  6. Trevor Noah and Charlize Theron - yes they may be foreigners now , but in their hearts they will always stay the property of this country.
  7. Amazing inventions - believe it or not the heart transplant, Kreepy Krauly and Q20 and the method to extract oil from coal, all started here.
  8. Fynbos - this is the smallest florist kingdom, but ONLY exists naturally in SA.
  9. Nelson Mandela - who does not know this icon and formidable man and his colourful shirts.  He was a proud man who not only changed our country, but also the world with his kindness and compassion.  May we have a leader like that again very soon.
  10. Our sport teams - AmaBokke, Bafana Bafana and Proteas , even when you loose, you still make us proud!

We are a diverse, interesting, friendly, sunny country and to you all I say VIVA South Africa!!! VIVA!!

Sort:  

Great post @anneke this is a great country we live in!!

Thank you very much - it sure is - even with all the ups and downs

@anneke, I concur wholeheartedly. Just yesterday I had the opportunity to drive through the heart of Pretoria. I took some pictures of church square with Oom Paul. Things are so much different from thirty years ago, and many things sadden me. However, my heart was uplifted, because the "buzz" is still the same. Pretoria is still a beloved city, and South Africa is my country. Homeland, heartland.

O I agree - there are so many things that I didn't even mention

Fantastic post. I love our diversity. I hate our racism.

Thank you and I agree 100% - the hate and going back into the past is really getting so old - we must teach our kids to move forward and learn from the past , not keep on focusing on it

agreed, nice post

Thank you very much

@anneke, it's a beautiful post. I love South Africa.

Thank you very much - me too

Nice post :-)

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54