(Original content) Best party I've ever been (Najbolja žurka u mom životu)

in #teamserbia5 years ago (edited)

So when I was only 4 years old, I was given a whistle. I didn't know what was it for. They only said to me tonight we're going for a walk in the village.

  • Is Janko going to be there? I asked
  • Yes, we're all going.

This was a promising party. Janko was my best friend, and we're were inseparable. It was night of course and we weren't usually allowed to spend late nights outside. When we left our home, we weren't going to our car, as usual when we were going to parties, instead there was a crowd of people outside, walking on the road. Like when weddings are. It was custom to make a big wedding in my village, so the procession seems bigger when they start walking from their home to the church ( It is a small village ). So imagine a procession of 100 people walking down the street and the music is playing, live music, it is quite a sight, a very pleasing sight that you're not alone. We walked out and the crowd was just flowing, we couldn't know how long it is, because it was just going on, of course there were musicians and of course all of them were drunk. So we joined the procession and to my surprise most of the crowd had whistles so I wasn't alone. They were shouting "GOTOV JE" which in Serbian means He's done. I was too young to understand what that meant, but I knew Milosevic was bad and he had to be taken down. So we were all heading towards our local Cultural home, essentially a building in which all plays took place, all dances and galleries with art. The basement served for weddings and rehearsals. So it was night, we've gathered on this huge clearing, there's a big bonfire and since they cut electricity there's few generators that locals donated to the cause. For music they hired only a drummer that beat the shit out of those drums. I'm presuming now he was on drugs because he beat them like a devil and his haircut had two straps of hair painted in red, or maybe he was just really angry. That was it, people were dancing like a tribe, drinking and shouting " GOTOV JE!!!". It was the best night of my life, maybe like a child I sensed the happiness of those people, because I really didn't know what was going on, we we're playing hide and seek and we were happy seeing our parents happy.

Later I found out that that was the end of protests in Belgrade where they crushed his dictatorship.

But what do you do when you have people that are glued to their computers, and they're afraid to go outside?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99