Self Proclaimed Advocate: Cessation of Cigarrete Smoking

It has been a week now since I quit smoking and I am great to say that I am feeling and getting better. I see more positive effects to myself entirely since then.
images (7).jpg
Positive Things I have noticed:

● My breathing feels lighter than when I was smoking.
● My apetite to food has improved. I can taste food even better now.
● My sleeping habit also starting to get better. During the time when I was smoking I find it hard to get some sleep. I did some research and found out that smoking stimulates your brain to keep working and that is why your body feels tired but your mind still wide awake and active everytime.
● I feel well rested everytime I wake up from a complete rest as compare to when I was still smoking, I always feel tired and weak and unmotived to do things.
● In my financial stand point, It cuts out Php 2550.00 into my monthly expenses.

So what do I do to keep myself out from smoking or divert my cravings.

● Writing articles about it.
It actually requires great determination to overcome this habit that you've been used to for quite some time now. So, continuesly writing articles here on steemit keeps me reminded about my goal of ceasing cigarrete smoking.
● Consistent reminders from Mom, brothers and sisters.
Everytime I feel like smoking, I try to be very vocal to them that I am wanting to smoke one. That when their rapid lips starts to fire with bunch of reminders how dangerous and unhealthy smoking could cause to my precious life.
● Orange Juice
Everytime I crave for one stick of cigarrete I buy orange juice instead. The concept of consuming it feels the same when I am smoking.
● Taking effect of the Nationwide smoking ban.
Just recently the nationwide smoking ban had took effect last July 23, 2017.

images (5).jpg

I personally promoted myself to be an advocate of this battle to cease cigarrete smoking and promote healthy and safe living.
With this continous effort writing articles about cigarrete smoking will bring awareness to others to become an advocate of the same belief.

images.jpg

Sort:  

First of all, well done on making this commitment to quit the filthy habit!!!!
I'm lucky, never took to smoking. I briefly flirted with it as a teenager but soon stopped as it cost too much. Wanted money for music not burning :)
It's brilliant that you are spreading the word too.
In college the biology lecturer told me smokers may look clean on the outside but inside their bodies are sticky with dirty tar. I thought, ugh no thanks!
I sincerely hope you chuck the habit for good!!!

Thanks. I like the piece of advice from your biology lecturer. Made me feel guilty and dirty tar at the same time hehehe! But I am more determined to burn this filthy habit... thanks

Congratulations, this is good. I hope you will get healthy and never touch a cigarette again in your life.

I stopped smoking November last year, and since then I have never smoked. And I agree that my breath feels lighter, since I stopped smoking, I never had breathing problems.

I sleep better, and I have started to run when I use to smoke I hardly could run for a minute, now I run for about 10 minutes without any break. My lungs are getting stronger and stronger.

Some day I plan to run a marathon.

Congratulations @hungrymind! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

steemit Digital life vote up
Follow me

Congratulations, hungrymind. You have done yourself a huge favour. Keep up the good work!

Thanks @judyroberts. I must admit that it is a tough battle.

I quit smoking decades ago. I started having a little blood when I would cough stuff up. It was one of the best things I've ever done. I like your analogy "That's when their rapid lips start to fire". That is definitely Filipino. I should know, I've been married to a Filipina for over 37 years, and I've lived in the Philipines for just over 7 years now.

Even I was starting to get little blood when I coughed. It's been about 7 months since I smoked, I feel strong and sleep well.

I am glad you are on your way back now to a healthy life. KEEP IT UP sir @public-money

Congrats sir johnwjr7! I am aiming for the same goal. Wish I would not break.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51