You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Macadamia muffins – gluten free, sugar free, keto, paleo or whole food

in #teamnz6 years ago

You sold me on the first word 'Macadamia' @kiwideb Anything with macadamia nuts in it gets first priority with me. I grind almonds for baking quite a lot and enjoy the flavour of almond meal but macadamias are my all time favourite nuts.

My granddaughter's cousin made divine rocky road for Christmas and I simply I could not resist having two or three of those decadent treats. Silly how we call high sugar foods 'treats' isn't it? We can blame our grandmothers and mothers because that is how they were brought up. We are not doing our kids any favours by brain washing them this way are we? Sugar is NOT a treat!

We should say to them, '"You've been such a good boy or girl. How would you like some tooth decay or arteriosclerosis in a few years time darling? Or would you like something tasty that will probably shorten your lifespan by ten years or more?" I can just imagine the reactions kids and parents would have if they saw this happen.

Actually, I don't have to imagine, because I have unashamedly used similar tactics on my own grandchildren. Sometimes it works. Sometimes it doesn't. They smile at me.......but they get the message. Sort of. (lol)

Grandmothers are allowed to give treats to their grandchildren but I'd rather give them healthy options and that is easier to do when I give them non-edible treats.

Sort:  

Oh so true!

Shall I make some rocky road with melted sugar free chocolate, maybe a bit of creamed coconut, some macadamias, and some chopped up dried strawberries, which are very sweet but no added sugar? Not quite the same as the decadent one, but might taste rather good.

That sounds delicious Deb Let me know if you get around to making some.

If you remind me, I'll make some for when you come over. I've written the idea in my kitchen journal.

Oooh, that will be a treat Deb! I will write it in my diary. Do you know when you and Andrea a will be away?

She's got some new ideas for her birthday so not sure if we're still heading away. But if we do, it will be May or June probably.

Oh that's great. We're thinking about September but its not set in concrete.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59