You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't believe the nay sayers - you can have fruit on keto!

in #teamnz5 years ago

Beautitful photos and great info @kiwideb When I was doing 25 carbs daily I found my biggest struggle was to cut down on my vegetable portions as I put on weight with too many. And then, to reduce the amount of fruit I was used to eating was another challenge but the low carb ones you have listed are all delicious. The key is, portion sizes.

I do wish I hadn't seen those delicious tamarillos though. They are top of the list for foods I really miss from New Zealand. I used to crave them in N.Z. but have come to realize I was low on iron for many years even in my teens.

Sort:  

I never realised they were high in iron. But I just discovered, to my horror, that they are nightshades. I've never come across then before in a nightshades list. And I was looking forward to having some this winter.

They might be in season when you're here.

My mouth is watering just thinking about them. Would you believe John's Mum used to make him Tamarillo sandwiches for school when he was little? Sprinkled with sugar of course! The juice used to seep through the bread and it must have looked quite gross when I think about it. How he manged to pick them up and eat them without making a huge mess, I'll never know. Some people do some strange things don't they?

I see the occasional tamarillo in our supermarkets but at 60-80 cents each, I have to keep walking, It breaks my heart but I know I couldn't just have 3 or 4 to satisfy my craving, it would only stimulate it and then I'd have to hi-jack a plane to N.Z. and eat nothing else for 30 3 days until I was sick of them. 😝

Did I really write all that about a few innocuous tamarillos? I must have too much time ⏰ on my hands. 😁 (Trolling through the emoji's just to emphasize my point confirms my suspicions.)

I just looked up the season and it said "The peak of availability is in July and August. " Hopefully there will still be some around in September. I wonder if they freeze?

I'm just imagining John eating tamarillo sandwiches with a spoon!

Oh, thanks Deb. That may play a big part on when to 'Cross the Ditch.' I don't remember freezing them, probably because I never had any left over. I also miss fejoas. They were always so plentiful and we probably took them for granted when we lived in N.Z.

I haven't mentioned to him yet that I am telling tales out of school but I will have to ask how exactly how he managed to eat soggy tamarillo sandwiches without his mates giving him a hard time. 😊

We freeze feijoas whole. They'e no good for eating on their own when defrosted, but still good for smoothies and baking. I haven't tried tamarillos either.

Yes, I do remember that about feijoas. I saw feijoa ice-cream at a fete here in Brisbane last year but was too busy with my camera to stop and try it. Have you tried it yourself?

No, I haven't. But this recipe from Nadia Lim sounds good https://nadialim.com/recipe/instant-feijoa-ice-cream/

Ooooh yes. That does look delicious......and heathy., which is a great combination. I like the sound of adding mint into the mix.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86