Art in the Subways 60th and Lexington Mosaics Part 2

in #teamnz6 years ago

Art in the Subways 60th and Lexington Mosaics Part 2

I did a few post a while back of some of the cool art in the subways and I just realized that I had missed editing and sharing the shots of the Mosaic art in the 60th and Lexington Station

60th and Lexington Subway-5.jpg


Sony A6500 20mm F4 1/60 ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


I thought this shoe going around the corner was pretty cool

From what I could find online this station was originally built in 1989 and had no artwork, but as part of the second Ave Subway Renovations the artwork of Jean Shin was installed in the new station areas.

This artwork is called Elevated

60th and Lexington Subway.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F3.5 1/60 ISO 1000
Click here to view larger



I love the color and vibrancy of this mosaic work

60th and Lexington Subway-6.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F3.5 1/60 ISO 1000
Click here to view larger


People often wonder how I get shots with no people, this last shot shows that often there are plenty of people there and I have to wait patiently to get a moment when no one is passing by, but for this shot I took one with people in view to show it is never as quiet as sometimes I make it look.

While looking up about this artwork I read that there is different styles of Mosaics on each level, I only saw this level when I was there so I will have to visit again and catch the other levels.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.762812 lat -73.967734 long 60th and Lexington NYC d3scr

Sort:  

That is great artwork! I can't imagine the job! All those little tiles!

That’s a great point. I am sure getting a clear shot in NYC is no easy task.

@coldsteem ohh yes even early morning when I get most of the shots its hard, an hour or so later and its impossible lOL

I've seen these and some of the other mosaics in person and I have to say they are absolutely impressive. Great job capturing their essence.

@papacrusher photos never do them full Justice I do love the art in the Subway stations here in the city

I think that the choice of mosaics for the design of these tunnels, it is a good solution. Sometimes simplified architectural details look too boring. I like this Shoe and this Cup. Interesting photo. Thanks for your story :)

@madlenfox Thnaks I wish they did more of these the really make the station look so much better

Hehe, love seeing art in public places versus advertisements. We need to reclaim our spaces again :)

@mikesthoughts yes I totally agree there should be more art like this all around

We gotta fight to make it happen before the corporations make it more illegal to do, hehe.

Those are really pretty. It almost doesn't fit with the place though. The floors and ceilings and other surroundings are so aged and dirty that it seems strange to have such pretty artwork. I think I like the shoe best. It has some great colors to it and seems vibrant.

@marxrab The shoe was my favorite part of it as well, they sure did contrast with the rest of the station

They are very nice and vibrant pieces of street art.
Know the feeling about having to be patient for taking pictures with out people.

@biglipsmama Thanks, it is a challenge and sometimes I feel I should get more shots with people in them to give a sense of scale or how busy it really is

Quite an improvement.:-)

@manorvillemike Absolutely better than the plain stations

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=art-in-the-subways-60th-and-lexington-mosaics-part-2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The decoration is beautiful, I wish every subway had that level of detail

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31