You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breads for everybody! The good, the bad and the keto.

in #teamnz5 years ago

My wife and I have just commenced a Keto diet (maybe 9 days ago), so this is a really interesting post for me. When we were first thinking about a change of eating, such as this, I was concerned about the lack of variety, especially for my wife, who likes different foods often. Searching the web though, we found that there is no lack of variety for any of the low carb-style diets.

I just (over the weekend) made some keto bread rolls, which actually tasted quite nice - add in some butter, or a nut butter, and you can convince yourself it is the high-carb starchy bread you buy from a bakery. I also used a fathead base to make some bagels. Again, quite tasty, especially for breakfast with bacon and eggs, or cream cheese and salmon. All pretty much zero carb. You mentioned you haven't used fathead dough - I'd highly recommend it! In my limited experience eating this way, the fathead ought recipe seems to be one of the most versatile - I'v also used it to make some keto pizzas, and I read that it can be used to jumpstart many 'dough' type recipes.

If I may, a question: are carrots okay on a keto diet? I've read that they are one of the 'best to avoid' vegetables. You're going to make my wife's day if they are - they were a staple of her salads until we read that they may not be keto-friendly!

Sort:  

I will get round to trying fat head dough one day. But I'm not psychologically attached to it any more, so I'm in no rush. Though still psychologically attached to the occasional dessert or piece of cake.

I've just done a post covering vegetables, which addresses carrots :-)

https://steemit.com/teamnz/@kiwideb/keto-series-which-are-the-best-vegetables

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60