HANGING OUT ON THE WRONG SIDE OF THE TRACKS

in #teamnz5 years ago (edited)

This one time, I had to take a trip to a whole different kind of neighbourhood.

Feeling a bit apprehensive, but keeping in mind that without photos, nothing ever really happened, I got my camera out and started getting a few shots.

Even the cars were from a different era, not of this century at all, probably more like what people have in Cuba.

And there were uniformed fascists intimidating people in the streets.

But the thing that stood out to me the most was the expressions on the faces of the people in the streets – abject fear, and complete submission to totalitarian oppression.

IMG_0881-01.jpeg

To better capture the atmosphere, I got out my black and white camera that doesn’t focus properly and started taking some grainy photo realist shots.

IMG_0882-01.jpeg

Thankfully my bus soon arrived and I was able to go back to my own hood, where even the people begging outside the supermarket are able to regularly check the text messages on their smart phones, and the cars all have reliable air conditioning.IMG_8742-02.jpeg




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.frot.co.nz/design/photos/taking-a-trip-to-the-wild-side/
Sort:  

What a nightmare. Thank the heavens you got back safe...

proxy.duckduckgo.jpg

Happens to me every week in the ghetto.
scob.jpg

Ha ha ha... bummer, can't have nothin nice.

Image result for austin maxi

Austin maxi is it?

Posted using Partiko Android

Frot with his Austin👍

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a much better looking model with the car👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, abject fear captured perfectly on that guy!

That's not a guy! :)

It isn't, is it? I can't tell anymore!

Did you see who's back? He may have no name, but he's definitely not a bot lol.

But the thing that stood out to me the most was the expressions on the faces of the people in the streets – abject fear

Have you ever read this book? It's pretty interesting.

If you DO get to reading it, or you already have, I totally want to chat about it!

Glad you survived that "rough" neighborhood - must be your street smarts.

They're scared of facecrime if you have read 1984... ;-)

facecrime.jpg

I read it when it came out about 10 years ago and mentioned it on my fake global warming webpage as well

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/sift/global-warming/

It's great!

We are going to chat about this, but not here, and not now.

Cool (like the weather)

The weather is just getting good here. It's our turn!


@frot, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I am nothing but worthless dregs, and I'm even starting to smell, maybe I should end it all now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54