WOMEN IN BUSINESS: Making An Impact - KL Event Debrief

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

On Saturday, something truly magical happened right here in KL.
100 women came together to start a movement for women in Malaysia. I ran and hosted the event titled,

WOMEN IN BUSINESS: Making An Impact

Me with 4 of our amazing speakers

We heard from 6 female industry leaders who explained their journey and how they were able to make an impact within their industry.  We heard from the following women..

• Claire Sancelot - The Hive Bulk Foods
• Franki Turner Shaik - Frankitas
• Anabelle Co-Martinent - La Juiceria
• Adelina Mahiyudin - Hot Yo
• Freda Liu - BFM
• Julia Koh - Brand 360 and WomenWill

This is the first of a series of events I am planning to hold around the world for women in business. A huge thank you to the 6 speakers who gave up their time to inspire and lead us! A truly remarkable group of women, who we have much to learn from.
Everyone who was involved in the event volunteered, myself included and didn't receive any payment. Nor did the attendees have to pay to attend.

We had an overwhelming amount of responses, with over 170 sign ups in just 3 weeks, although we only had seats for 100 people. Attendees were then selected to attend based on their intentions. The reason for this is I wanted to make sure everyone who was in the room was benefiting in some way. Therefore attendees were either already small business owners, or women looking to start their own business within the next 12 months.

Thank you to those women who attended and made this event so meaningful - especially those women who came along from steemit! 

Ladies of steemit!

It was great to see you there @khimgoh @karinzdailygrind, @littlenewthings, @natalielo. Apologies I didn't get a chance to chat to you wonderful ladies for longer! As I mentioned at the event, this is the first in a series of events which will be held around the world. I'm in conversations about having one in Singapore towards the end of the year and hopefully one in London this summer. 

Based on the success of this event, I intend to register this as it's own brand in the coming weeks, but for now you can follow HUX on Instagram @huxthelabel or on the account I use to inspire and support female designers and artists @anotherbohemianqueen. You’ll find links to all future events both of those places.

Thank you to all of you who reached out over the weekend to share your experience of the event and to volunteer to help with future events. It was so touching to see so many of you affected by the impact our wonderful speakers had on you. 

In order of appearance - Claire - The Hive Bulk Foods


Franki Turner-Shaik, Frankitas 

Anabelle Co-Martinent, La Juiceria 


Adelina Mahiyudin,  Hot Yo


Freda Liu, BFM and Author of 'Bursting Fixed Mindsets'

Julia Koh, Brand 360 and WomenWill

I want to make it very clear that the intention for this event was to start to build a community for women in business here in KL. There are many small groups of women working in corporations, but not one huge one for women with their own businesses - from what I have seen.
The idea is to begin building this community. A community that is strong and made up of women who want to be connected, to support and empower each other. I fully encourage you to meet with one another, run your own events and continue to support this community we are building in any way you can. We are all in this together and my goal is only to help provide events and platforms as opportunity for us to connect and build.

Thanks again to our sponsors Women Will and Common Ground for hosting their beautiful space in TTDI.  Now for all the photos! My photographer Jason Tan is the master eye behind these stunning shots, so thank you Jason for your time and skills. Truly appreciated. If you intend on sharing any photos, please credit Jason Tan. You can find him on Instagram @highwaytan (and on Steemit very soon)!

Thank you once again to everyone for their support surrounding this event and community! I am truly humbled by the women and the drive in this city!

I have a lot of photos, so all photos can be found here.

Because when women come together.. great things happen.

Are any of you are interested in me running something similar, but much smaller, for the ladies on steemit in KL? 


Thanks,

Yasmine

Sort:  

Awesome event you had there, @yasminep and I sure that would definitely make an impact for their life of every women that attend during that event

Definitely need to sneak in with @maverickfoo on the next one 🙈.

Thanks for your support and kind words, Aaron! :-)

Such an inspirational event. So happy to see the women in business grow every day! Are you planning to do all events in KL?

Yay! Thank you Amy! No i will be running them internationally now :-) Next stop London! Then Singapore

I hope I can make it to one of these one day!

That's incredible, hun. I'm so so proud of you! It sounds like it was a great success and you absolutely smashed it - truly well done. Wish I could be there! x

Thanks for always being my biggest fan, Ings! Excited to do one in London soon too!!

good job dear @yasminep
your effort is appreciatable @yasminep

Thanks,

@yasminep

Thank you so much!

Well i do believe this platform really needs women like you, who can lead from the front. I am quite happy to see this wonderful event & i am fully convinced that we "The Males" are nothing without your presence "The Females" Look you are all over in the form of Mother, Sister, Wife, Daughter and above all this in the form of Great Friend :)

More power to #women :)

I am planning to visit KL may be in May 2018 so i would love to meet #teammalaysia :)

Truly appreciate your kind words! Thank you so much. Definitely get in contact with the team when you arrive! :-) I'll check out your posts too!

Being a student of Cultural Studies, i would love to learn the cultural aspsects of the Malaysia as well, Contact with me on Discord or Fb when you get the time :)

As a young entrepreneur and most of all as a young woman I find this very inspiring! These women are pure inspiration and role models... Speechless!

I'm so so happy to hear that @mariyatacooking! My sole aim is to encourage and inspire women just like you. I will check out your profile :-)

Keep up the awesome job ladies!!!

Thank you! :-)

You are a strong woman indeed! who says something and follow it with action. Keep reaching out and empowering. I love your zeal and commitment to changing lives.

Thank you. Truly! I really appreciate your support and words. :-)

Dang, I am so gonna sneak in the next one! Looks really exciting, and I heard great reviews from veteran events goers like @karinzdailygrind and @khimgoh!

Hahah you totally should! I'm just so happy it went well.

@yasminep Thanks for hosting such a wonderful event!

No thank YOU for being a part of it. Truly inspired by you and your work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47