Me - 100 Most Influential Creators in Malaysia

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

How did I do this for nearly a decade?
9 years!

9 years of consistent blogging, attending events, going on media trips, doing reviews.

100 top influencer Malaysia - Rebecca.JPG

Am I tired? Oh yes, I am. Not of writing, but of the current media scene.

And at my most jaded stage in my blogging life, I found Steemit.

I've been lurking around Steemit and getting a hang of things, reading, joining groups and watching DTubes.
I am beginning to get a hang of it and as a decade old blogger, I find Steemit refreshing and of course, a new challenge.

It is gonna take a hell lot of effort, but I'm definitely in Steemit for the long run! :)

Will I still be blogging?
Well, as I’ve said on my FB and Instagram (wackybecky), bloggers’ awards are a dime a dozen.
I take lightly as a form of recognition, but never a validation of what I do.

In my 9 years being a content creator - I’ve never chased awards. Never needed them.

My blog RebeccaSaw.com came about because I truly enjoy reading and writing. I went around reading a lot of blogs. Then I started my blog from writing about my all-time obsession - FOOD.

I’ve evolved to include travel, fitness, lifestyle, etc now.
I’ve grown over the years - from Blog, then FB and Twitter, followed by Instagram and YouTube. Now it's Steemit.

It was so different back then.
Now “bloggers” are bad news. “Influencers “ are freeloaders.

It hurts me when I saw comments like “ Bloggers are shit. They don’t know anything. Just pay them or give them freebies and they will write all good stuff”.

I felt the cut deep when I see other sites making videos making fun of influencers.

I cringe when I read comments about bloggers being untrustworthy or being discredit merely because they are bloggers/influencers.

It’s painful. It’s embarrassing. Especially when you get swept up with all the negativity and was no part of it.

I’ve never personally solicited for “free” stuff in 9 years. NEVER!
All engagements were initiated by clients/brands. I guess I would have made a lot more money and taken a lot more trips if I did. I was tempted many times, but it never happened.

I never felt right about doing so.
I’m not sure if I will have to change my principle on this, but I know my plans for 2018 aren’t so much on being an influencer anymore.

Those who know me personally know my principles.

Bills need to be paid, so yes, if a brand approaches me, my rates apply. Otherwise I earn my keep for the stuff I want, like I always have, and always will.

Sort:  

Interesting story. Yeah, influencers have a bad rap these day.

Yes! I may be one lone person, but I hope that brands and society as a whole realizes that not every influencer is bad. Just like not every politician is a liar, nor is every India man a wife-abuser. lol.
People like to generalize now huh..

True, "not every influencer is bad".

I've been selling face to face for many years. I understand the stigma, haha. Many sales people over promise under deliver which gives sales people a bad rap. Influencers are in essence a type of sales too right?

What I've discover is people tend to trust you more when you tell the truth, i.e. the good, and the bad, what can be accomplished and what can't.

Congratulations @wackybecky! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Keep moving forward Becky. You are an inspiration

Thanks Daniel. Will do will do. :D May 2018 be better for us all!

Keep doing what you are doing! Steemit is a platform which rewards quality content and I am confident that you will be handsomely rewarded :)

Thanks for the encouragement. Hope to meet u one day in SG! :D

Hope to meet you too!

Congratulations! I know who to look for if I ever open a cafe

LOL! Can can.
If u need suppliers contacts - u can holla too. Frm equipment to ingredients to decor and contractors! :P

hi @wackybecky ! Great to have a seasoned blogger on teammalaysia great to have you onboard. Looking forward on reading your blogs ... we can't give you awards or media coverage ... however I'm sure you'll be much appreciated here on this platform and get well rewarded for it. Cheers and have a happy weekend

Congratulations @wackybecky! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations on the award. 9 years of consistently producing content is pretty amazing. You deserve it. And welcome to Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56