The Unfortunate Event

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

Last week, the Prime Minister of Malaysia announced Monday as a public holiday in conjunction with Malaysia's recent success in winning the Sea Games. And with that opportunity, we take a 2 night off to Kundasang. With an elevation of about 2,000 metres above the sea level, Kundasang is one of the coolest places in Sabah with temperatures dropping to 13ºC at night.

The first and second nights in Kundasang are absolutely the best. The residence we live in is perfectly suited to urban people who are always busy with work and have no time to relax.

Quiet, peaceful, fresh air and beautiful scenery made me forget about work and KK for a while 😊

Everything went smoothly until the 3rd day. On Monday morning, I woke up early in the hope of seeing a clear view of Mount Kinabalu and hopefully can take some pictures for my personal collections. Unfortunately, the mount view from my room is obstructed by the building. So, with a camera in hand, I intend to take pictures of the mountain outside my room.

I went down the stairwell and saw a dog resting. I have no suspicion what so ever about the dog because the area we live is a very popular resort and plus there are some dogs roaming around the area that we stayed.


A shot that I managed to get before the attack.

I walked towards to the end of the building and passed by the dog. Without any sign, the dog pounced on my left thigh and bit me for a few seconds. After he released my thigh, he again tried to attack me. Armed with only a camera, I tried to defend myself from being attacked again by swirling the camera towards the dog. A resort staff came and drove out the dog after hearing the commotion. I did not think the wounds caused by the dog bite were very bad until I went back to the room. One of his teeth successfully penetrated my skin and filled my thighs.

IMG_2544.JPG
Ouch 😭😭😭

After complaining to the resort’s owner, I found out that the dog actually belongs to his neighbor. We had the opportunity to see the owner and tell him about the incident. We advise that the dog to be locked up for safety. After getting treatment at Ranau hospital, we headed back to Kota Kinabalu.

Today, I learned that the dog’s owner has contacted SPCA (Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals) and the dog was finally captured and placed under SPCA care.


The attacker

I truly feel sorry for the dog, as much as I am happy to see the dog roaming free and happy but such anticipated attack put us a risk not only to children at the resort but also to the dog itself. Just imagine someone who is angry hit the dog with wood and make the dog tempang (limping) or worse, permanent injuries ... The dog’s life will suffer.

"Human take wild dog from the wild and domesticated them, it is human responsibility to care for them"

Despite the attack, I do hope the dog can meet a new owner who can teach him about love and affection. I do still think about him and wondering what will happen to him.

Sometimes I wonder, does our society care enough for our fur animals?

Sort:  

I feel for u and the dog. Kundasang is really a beautiful place. I hope that u get to visit the place again minus the unfortunate incident.

Oh, definitely. Planning to go back there again sometime in the future. I did not get angry or blame the dog. Just hoping that he would find a new home with a responsible owner. Just found out also that I am not his first victim.

I sure hope you sought medical attention for your injury. I would hate for you to get an nasty infection or worse, rabies or such. Not sure if rabies exists in Malaysia. Where I come from dogs are not allowed in public without a leash, except in designated areas. Any owner who allows a dog to attack people is criminally responsible. What if the dog attacked a child instead of you? The outcome may have been fatal.

I did. Went directly to the hospital after the attack. Thank you for your concern.

Here (especially in the kampung - village), most of the dogs are roaming freely. But I agree with you. It is unsafe and dangerous for children to go out and play while there are dogs roaming around.

Excellent. I am glad all is well. Regards and take care.

Thank you @cryptophreak

Ouch must be painful ... dog attacks very much depending on its breeds i suppose. Take care there!

Hopefully the hospital gave you a rabies vaccine shot. We have rabies outbreak here and people are in fear of stray dogs. Thank God you are okay though.

They gave a shot but it's not for rabies. Apparently the hospital said I don't need one. So, finger crossed everything's gonna be okay.

You will be fine :)

I hope so too

Congratulations @viverridae! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's a reasonably large dog... scary to have it attack you. Good on you for keeping a level head and handling the situation well enough, hopefully the pup will be ok.

It is a medium size dog actually. But yeah, it was scary. Was hoping the dog are fine too. Still wondering what happened to him now.

That is a "huge" wound! It must have hurt a lot once you were back in your room... It sure was a bad and nasty experience... Speedy recovery to you!

It is. Cried like a baby because of the pain 😂. It is getting better now.

Speedy recovery!
💖💞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50