DIY - Do It Yourself.....love it..

DIY – Do It Yourself. I love DIY. I will try to fix certain things at home with DIY. Even my facial mask or hair mask I will use DIY recipes. How do I learn all those DIY? Well YOUTUBE…Youtube has so many resources of how to do DIY ranging from homemade facial mask to how to fix a pipe or even an aircond. Gotta love YouTube. So today, I am going to write about how I fix my son’s school shorts’ zipper using DIY. Of course I can send it to the tailor to replace a new zipper which might cost me RM8 per pair and I have 2. If I can fix it myself I will save cost and also the hassle of bringing those pants to the tailor and bring it back home when it is done.

So, I googled how to fix a zipper. Brandon (my son) has 2 pair of shorts with the same zipper problem. How on earth did he manage to do that I have no idea? The problem is as shown below:-

DSC_0128.JPG

DSC_0132.JPG

So at first I wanted to google on how to replace the zipper but guess what I found this cute little youtube link which is only 1.12 minute long. (

). Gotta love short DIY videos with great comments. For those who have the same problem with the zipper I hope my blog can help you out or do watch the video. Here are the things I have done.

First, I have to fix the part where some teeth got ripped off from the band so I have to sew them back. Remember that when you sew make sure that the thread do not interfere with the teeth. Sew it between the teeth otherwise the zip thingy cant move up or down. I sew it a few times just to make it more secure.

The next thing is to move the zipper thingy part all the way down and cut (just a little) the other side (where the zipper is not on it) between the teeth.
DSC_0135.JPG

DSC_0136.JPG
Then, put them together (like you would in a jacket) and pull the zipper up….

DSC_0137.JPG

WALA…The final step is to sew together from the bottom of the zip to the part where you cut to create a new bottom for the zip…

DSC_0139.JPG

DSC_0140.JPG

DONE….Easy peasy lemon squeezy..

Have fun!!!!
(Sorry for my very bad quality pictures)

Sort:  

Awww thanks so much.....

You are welcome!

Congratulations @sweetiegraciepie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37