The Number 23

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

23. Twenty-three. is a numeral figure which can either mean very little or mean so much to an individual.

It could signify as a person's birth date, a certain special occasion, a favorite number or even the amount of shoes someone has.

In the Chinese Internet slang, 23 resembles laughter and happiness. (Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/ChineseLanguage/comments/4y2wu1/what_does_23_mean_in_chinese_internet_slang/)

As for me, it is the coming of age where I am experiencing the most brutal question which I am in the midst of figuring. "Who Am I?"

FYI, I am not seeing this is a setback yet a very exciting adventure supported by endless and countless encouragement by my parents @looklookseesee and @markim1155. I am so lucky to have very understanding, non-conventional and radical parents in my upbringing. And for allowing me to never set myself to a certain benchmark (I love this the most!)

When I mean discovering myself, I don't mean all the hanky panky doings ya! :P

I have recently came back to my beloved beautiful hometown in Kota Kinabalu a month ago due to some health issues (mostly skin related - severe eczema) triggered by low immunity.

Let me share a teeny bit on this, I am a final year student studying a Degree in Finance & Investment in KL. And as you know, (speaking to all youngsters....), the norms of a student such as the late nights, the high amount sugar diet and etc etc. Adding the stress to the body was that I am quite a perfectionist and a kiasu (this I have to admit, HAHAHA) I guess you get the picture la kan.. All of these caused weird things happening to my body but being a strong-willed individual, I bear with it for sometime but finally gave in when the health problems took a toll on me during my study week, in which I finally decided to come back for a bit (which was supposedly to be a week turning to a month).

Fret not, I am currently undergoing recovery and most of it is almost resolved, Hallelujah!

Yes.... I admit I complained alot in the earlier periods but eventually, I tried taking things and the occurrences of these positively and concluded that this is a way that a part of me is telling me to rest, chill and take a step back to see what truly makes me happy. And I hold this motto dearly to my heart especially now.

"When we are calm and happy, then we are able to achieve the things we truly want" - CharlesG

The thing is, I LOVED the things I was taught throughout my course but along the way I forgot the true purpose which was to learn and I was more excited (or blinded?) by another's ambition. What I mean by this is that, here comes the dilemma of either being a so-so or being the top.

I have always believed that I am meant to have a purpose and most of the time like any other person, it is always being associated to being someone very big. So you see, this added to the kiasu-ness in me.

I am still going through the journey of finding my inner-self and of seeking what truly makes me happy. I have even set a list of things that I wish to achieve throughout these months that I am on a deferment (Post on list - Undergoing construction... Coming soon. :P)

Another reason that I am sharing here today is that, I can confirm that, one of the things that I am passionate about is KIDS. I have always loved kids especially babies! I am even a self-proclaimed 'aunty' that loves watching baby videos (hihi)

So recently, I've accompanied my mother to assist her in her volunteer English teaching program in SK Moyog. And all that keeps on popping in my head is how much I just love kids! The love you give and receive is just so satisfying. And to mention about their innocence! & how the small things can bring genuine joy to their hearts.

The overall experience was a 10/10 for me.. despite the humidity, I was still so happy. & for anyone that knows me, I get cranky easily when it is humid.. (Sorry princess sikijap)

Here are a few pictures from this particular event:-

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-23 at 22.22.19.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-23 at 22.22.58.jpeg

I mean, just look at this!!! Isn't this cute?! And this clearly proves I'm a favorite? (hehe, I'm joking)
WhatsApp Image 2018-02-23 at 22.23.20.jpeg

Okay, that is all for now. Thank you Steemit for giving me a platform to share and express my happiness. Signing off at 10.20pm, good night Steemians.. Zzzzzz

Sort:  

Well done @rubinamary we hope u find yr true calling

Thank you @markim1155 and @looklooksee. I have the greatest gift - the best parents ❤️

Great article @rubinamary! Very touched to know we played a part in your life. We pray for your recovery and discovery!

Totally lol'ed at the hanky panky part. xD I didn't know you were having health issues too :( It's good to see that you're also keeping positive and realising you gotta take care of yourself. Career is a big deal, but more so our health.

God bless your journey and recovery, and keep on keeping on!! 😘😘

Hahaha ya la! Disclaimer ba that so that no one salah faham when i meant discovering myself. Haha. Yes yes! Mine is minor compared to yours
But it is good la. I read your post and heard abojt ur situation also so in a way empowered me to feel positive as well as youve recovered tremendously also kan! You too! Hopefully can catch up one of these days lagi hehe ❤️

Nice post @rubinamary.
Hope that you will get well soon.
Volunteering teaching English is a very noble gesture.
A very good content.

Keep on posting.
Cheers

Thank you @papanog! Looking forward to more health posts from you too!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Welldone @rubinamary. Keep on writing and post. Your parents are special type. Susah cari. Treasure them and take care! Woot! Woot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65862.35
ETH 3444.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68