Where Art Thou... Sorry. Pun Intended.

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

I don't know about you but when I was in school, I hated art class. In fact I hate it so much that the effort I put in that class was as much as I can lift a giant boulder- meaning not even an inch.

Even though I loved drawing, I never excel in art class. All my art homework was done with no enthusiasm at all or I asked my friend, who was/is an excellent artist, to do it for me.

Yes I loved drawing. In fact, I was already drawing before I know my alphabets (I have photos of me with a pen and sketching pad at the age where I think I just learned how to sit properly). I won't say my drawings were fantastic-mind-blowing-super-wow-factor. It was mere doodling anime/chibi characters, stick cartoons to amuse my siblings and simple drawings to appease my itchy fingers.

And I always wanted to learn how to paint my drawings. But art class in school NEVER taught me that. I was taught how to blend colors so in the exam I can answer questions like "If you mix red with yellow, what color would you get?" 😑. I was taught how to weave mat using colored paper, make collage, make pots using newspaper and sticky flour, and even when I was asked to draw and paint a scenery, the teacher did NOT teach me how to do it but was given free reign to use my zero-painting-knowledge-technique. So you can imagine how godawfuluglyasswhat my "art" result was.

Lucky were those kids who get to be enrolled in private art tuition center where my mom couldn't afford to send me despite me wanting oh so badly to go because I waaaaant to learn how to paint!

As time goes by, I still doodle here and there. My work is still meh category and definitely not worth looking at but it gives me so much pleasure to just... draw. I should be ashamed and hide my pitiful work especially from my husband who is a super talented artist but instead I proudly post it in Instagram. Probably because I already know my doodle sucks egg so there’s no shame in the game! Besides, I don't crave praises or acknowledgement. I already know my artwork deserves to be in the bin.

So after 6 months of my "early retirement", I finally woke up from my lazy mode and decided to do something aside from my usual daily mundane activity (cook, eat, sleep). I wanted to draw again. Nothing big and fantastic. So I started to doodle chibi animals again to entertained my kids.

IMG_9121.jpg

IMG_9120.jpg

IMG_9119.jpg

Then I drew zentangle princess for my daughter.

IMG_9116.jpg

IMG_9117.jpg

OK I admit this one was scary and not meant for her to see but she saw it anyway and cried saying "the pricess is a zombie". Oops! I drew that when I heard about Chester Bennington and I was so crush that I hide in my room, drew this and just listened to all Linkin Park songs that helped me through my difficult young teenage turbulence years. May his soul rest in peace.

IMG_9118.jpg

Some friends asked me whether I can doodle their initials and so I did:

IMG_9112.jpg

IMG_9113.jpg

IMG_9114.jpg

IMG_9115.jpg

All the while, I toyed with the idea of enrolling myself to art class that teaches people how to paint. With watercolours! On canvas! Oooo! And after many, many wish send out to the falling stars...

Guess what? I found a lady who’s willing to give me a private class to paint flowers! I. AM. SO. EXCITED. I. COULD. BURST. RAINBOW. NOW!

I’m gonna start my class tomorrow!

Wish me luck!

Sort:  

Nice, most of doodles are in black, I like your colorful ones

Thank you very much (^.^)

Wah...now from forex to art. What else can u do?

Remember in my previous post I mentioned that drawing is my kryptonite because I sucked at it? Well I still suck at it hahahaha but because I love it, I'm willing to give it another go by learning how to paint next (^.^)

OMG... Those are superbly awesome... And you said you can't really draw....! Now you haven't seen mine yet.... I really can't draw.... I hated art class back in school too... And luckily I was in a SRJK so we didn't really have art class... Normally art class will be used for BM, BI, BC or Math classes... You draw perfectly awesome!!! Love your drawings!!!

You're talented!