I Don't Care To Count The Things I Do. I Do The Things That CountsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

GrittyCharacters2e.png

In my family, before we finish school, we were already working. In high school, we did odd jobs- selling cakes, nasi lemak, woke up at 4am to fry noodle or mee kolok to sell, work at departmental store, cassette shops, restaurant and many more.

So it was no brainer that after graduation, each one of us siblings were hustling like mad to secure a good job with the paper we worked so hard for. But oh it was not an easy journey for us. Countless resumes send out, knocking on every office doors, browsing through newspaper for vacancies every day and the rejections were piles high! No, we were not picky. Any jobs will do! Just to get an interview was already to make us jump for joy!

feels-2-560x560.jpg

I remember how frustrated I was when other family members refused to help. They worked in high profile company, holding high ranked position and yet, refused to even acknowledge our pleas to just help submit our resumes. That was why when I was approached by family members on how to get into the company I was working with last time, I tried my very best to show them the way. I even asked tips on how to answer interview questions from the managers so I can advise family members (pecah rahsia hahahhaa)!

We siblings never feel embarrassed to ask for job. We were so thick-skinned because we just cannot see ourselves lazing around the house, "having a break after years of studying". That mentality was not in our upbringing. When we couldn't find a job, we created job for the time being. I taught tuition on subjects I was good at- Math (that was the only subject I like and excel back then). My siblings helped my mom to sell cakes and nasi lemak. So yes most of us knows how to make currypuff, sambal nasi lemak, popia, mee kolok etc

Now that I'm at this stage where I am privilege enough to quit my job and venture out to try new job/company or new hobby or just anything I want to do- I can. I can laze around if I want or watch movies or just sleep the whole day. Because I earned it.

But I just can’t laze around much. As I said, it's not in my nature. We were not raised to be sloths that eat and sleep and expect our mom to cater for our needs 24/7 and for that I'm ever so grateful. We are independent, able to think out of the box, self-reliance, gritty and tenacious.

parenting-styles.jpg

Looking at my kids, I know they are more privilege than I was at their age. But I always find ways to teach them the value of life, money and working for what they want. Every time when my kids are asked what they want for their birthday gift or a treat and they answer, “One piece of small toy or a sticker or a simple dinner out”, I pat myself on the back. Whenever we go out and pass by toyshops or candy store, they don’t throw tantrums asking for one and I pat myself on the back.

I try my best to teach them the meaning of being grateful and I hope to raise them to be a better adult than I was, to make better choices in life, and to be gritty, independent and tenacious all at the same time. InsyaAllah.

Sort:  

Stay Awesome!!! =)

Thanks a bunch (^.^)

The setbacks or problems that we encounter will make us stronger. I too had a poor but happy childhood but today I can stand proud of what I have achieved.

Having a tough past is probably the reason why you have a better future nos. Having a privilleged life now may not guarantee a rosy future. Afterall a good bread is a result of a well pounded dough.

Congratulations @miningpips! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

experience build character, I used to push myself out of my comfort zone to collect experiences just to know what they feel like.. Results may vary! hahaha

Congratulations @miningpips! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52