Sewage, rain water, gas... when they ran under the city, cover them up!

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

I always loved taking pictures of trees, the contrast between the leaves and the sky... so beautiful. Until I went to visiting friends in Guangzhou-Foshan-Shunde last October, I began noticing the ground, and these round, and sometimes square sewage covers... they really caught my attention. So from then on, whenever I travel, every single town I go to, I started taking photos of the sewage cover, sometimes they're just gas line covers, sometimes storm water covers, whatever, as long as they're on the ground. I'm not very good in photography, sometimes the pictures were taken hurriedly, but as long as they're clear, that's what matters.

sewage Guangzhou.JPG
First cover... it's for gas line (Taken: Shangxiajiu Pedestrian Street, Guangzhou, China in Oct 2016)

After spending a few days in Shunde, I went to Guangzhou with a friend and was wondering round town with her. I have loved the Asian ghost stories, and how the Liwan Plaza in Guangzhou was haunted. I was here, and they say the word 广 (part of the word plaza) looked like 尸(corpse) and hmm... it DOES look a little like it huh?Guangzhou Liwan Plaza.JPG

Okay, enough side track. After that, I took a bus to Foshan, this was the first picture i took after getting down the bus.
sewage Foshan1.JPG
Feels like Foshan welcomed me haha (Taken: Chancheng district, Foshan, China in Oct 2016)

Next, I was in Bangkok in December, but I was on a job, so no time for picture taking. After a short job, I was in Ho Chi Minh City, in time to celebrate Christmas there and yea, their sewage covers are square, huge too... hmm, I wonder if the Vietnamese poo more... just kidding!
sewage Ho Chi Minh.JPG
(Taken: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam in Dec 2016)

The prettiest cover I found so far was from Saarlouis. (Taken: Saarlouis, Germany in Dec 2016)
sewage Saarlouis.JPG

sewage Trier.JPG
One of the places I visited while in Germany, Trier, the town of Karl Marx.
(Taken: Trier, Germany in Jan 2017)

sewage Haguenau.jpg
Took my boss' car and drove to France to visit friends. (Taken: Haguenau, France in Feb 2017)

sewage Dilingen.JPG I was wondering around this small town and found an Asian market there, I miss food at home. (Taken: Dilingen, Germany in Mar 2017)

sewage Turkismuhle.JPG
Final sewage cover before I end my 3 month stint in Germany (Taken: Türkismühle, Germany in Mar 2017)

Funny I never really noticed the sewage covers back home... hmm... I was home for about a month or so, and happily eating and gaining back the little weight I lost during the cold winter months in Germany haha. Then it's back to work... this time, gasp hot hot hot...

sewage Abu Dhabi.JPG
In this desert town, don't be surprise they had this storm water drain. These desert town sucks when it rains, most of the time they flooded, not like our East Coast every year end, but the water and the sand combo was a disaster for any drain. The whole place would be sludgy and muddy and you can imagine the chaos. I considered myself lucky I didn't get rain while I was there, otherwise the traffic would be horrific from the usual chaos.
(Taken: Abu Dhabi, UAE in June 2017)

After about 2 months in UAE, I'm currently back in Germany... in this quiet little town out in Saarland called Weiskirchen, which literally translates as white churches (Weiß = white; Kirchen = churches) sewage Weiskirchen.JPG (Taken: Weiskirchen, Germany in August 2017)
The weather thus far was absolutely pleasant, despite the occasional rain or drizzle, temperature between 19 - 30 Celcius, wind was still cold. Can't wait till I travel to a new town to capture their sewage cover!

Sort:  

Wow! Amazing piece of sewage tour! Never expected it'll be a pretty one. You just created some serious sewage covers collectors followings. Very intetesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52