Day 171 : Why did I sign up?!

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

image

Then I received a photo from the group chat. Another run organized by the Health Ministry. Aww, its okay, just 8km run. Okay, no problem sign me up then.

image

This is what happen to all the run that I got involved to. Furthest I had sign up was half marathon for 21km years back when I was at Singapore. That was many years back. Then comes 8km invitation from the running club group chat. Sure, why note. Just 8km. It wont hurt.

But I wasnt fit like I was before. Earlier days I would visit the gym 3 times a week for kickboxing training. 2 hours every session. Never less. Those were the long gone days. Recent years had became the opposite. No more gym, no more swimming and running at the stadium or at the park.

But the mind keeps telling me, no problem. Again saying 8km wont hurt for you.

Lie. Its a lie. A lie that I always believe in.

The moment I started running for the first 10 minutes, muscles started to ache, body started to give up and the mind control started telling me the otherwise.

Why?? Why did you sign up for thin run?!
Then its too late to turn back. I'm already half away running. It will be a waste for u-turn. So continue running, till another point strike. Voice inside screaming. WHY? WHY did you think you still can run. Would'nt it be better to be on the bed at this hour. Then the other good side of the voice would say, 'you can do it'. Dont stop. Just run till the end. At the finishing line when you received the finisher medal it will all paid of.

Finally completed the 8km run. It was meant to be a fun run. Instead a fun run with a voice war inside along the way.

Rested at the corner with a satisfactory feeling, then took photo of wefie with other runners which is a must for every run.

image
Thanks for dropping by my 5 minute freewrite. By chance you had felt the same like I do during each run. Well then, Welcome to the club!

Sort:  

Congratulations on finishing. We do need to persist to keep fit!

Agree.. It was not easy.. But it always ebded with satisfaction. With a plus to keep healthy

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44