Contentment is all we need – Part 1 of 2

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

Raining Sunday afternoon yesterday. Wife and my kids went back to hometown for short holiday. So, im hone alone, browsing FB. I hate loneliness because the feeling of depression always kicks in when I feel loneliness. Yes, I have anxiety disorder before and I’m lucky I walked out of it… but not completely. And sure enough I can feel my brain started to get fucked up again.

It’s not the first time so I kina know how to deal with it. I have 2 choices. Either I hang out with friends, or find something to do to keep myself busy.

Since it’s raining outside, I decided to stay home and clean up my house. I put on some relaxing BossaNova music and start from my messy desk.

While I going through my stuff, this piece of drawing captured my attention.

It’s a drawing from my sponsored child in China, Jia Nan.

A lot of things going through my mind when I look at the drawing. Eventually it heals my fucked up brain this time. In Short, Contentment is all we need.

In this Part 1 of my story, I want to share about people that has inspired me to sponsor a child.

It’s them….

These are kids from Siem Reap, Cambodia. I took this picture years back. It was a last min free and easy trip which I don’t know what to expect. All I know bout Siem Reap is the magnificent temples and sceneries. Packed my camera and few cloths and off we go.

Right from the first day in Siem Reap, I’ve been surrounded by these poor kids. They asked for money “1 dollar, 1 dollar, 1 dollar”. Once I give a dollar to 1 kid, there are more running towards you. Well, that’s freak me off. Some of them selling postcards too.

Advised from the Ang Mo backpacker: Just get them some sweets and they will be very happy. And sure enough, with the sweets, even with the language barrier can’t stop me communicate with these kids. Every place I visited, my focus is on them rather than the temples and scenery.

I communicated with them kids and adults using some simple English and hand signals, listen to their stories. Many of them can’t even afford to get education, not even living from hand to mouth. Some of their story even make my tears dropped.

People said a picture tells a thousand words. Totally agreed. Every single picture below has a story in it.

It was a fruitful trip. They’ve inspired me. They’ve changed me.

After I back from the trip, I started to do some research on poor people around the world. And that’s how I came across with WorldVision. Finally I can do something…… (Con’t) please stay tune.

Sort:  

Chocholate lover here ..hehehe

Im addicted to it!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kokuryo to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60328.18
ETH 2426.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48